What Makes a Hero? [IFC S2R10]

in #ifc5 years ago (edited)

1555221979729_Untitled_Artwork.jpg

Every Hero Begins As Someone Ordinary

As this post is for the @IFC, I know the image above has already grabbed your attention. Do you know the source of the image? If so, I like you already.

If not, I forgive you, because you would have had to be watching network tv in America circa 1981 to know this story, which is the story of The Greatest American Hero.

Untitled_Artwork~2.jpg
Drawing inspired by this photo from the original series

He Does Not Choose The Challenges - But He Chooses To Face Them

Ralph Hinkley was an ordinary man. A high school teacher, a father, an imperfect guy just trying to do his best. Unexpectedly, he is visited by an alien spacecraft, which presents him with a super suit and instructions, which are lost in the desert in the ensuing confusion.

Ralph's life is turned upside down. The suit looks ridiculous, anyone who sees him in it will think he is crazy, and to make matters worse he doesn't know how to use it. Without the instructions he not only doesn't know how to reliability access his powers, he does not even know why he's been given the suit. What is he supposed to do with this amazing potential?

In moments of desperation, he discovers powers he didn't know he could access - often awkwardly. The suit makes him able to fly, to be incredibly strong and fast, and impervious to bullets. It gives him visions of people in trouble, which does not help with the whole "I'm not crazy" thing. At one point, he is admitted to a hospital after flying straight into a wall, and his girlfriend finds him talking to the vision he sees in the wall (which he can't quite stabilize, so he has to keep tilting his head).

My hero, Ralph Hinkley, might seem at first to be a pretty flat character. It's an early 80s sitcom; the storytelling is pretty simple. Yet they got something right with this hero's journey, and they took me along for the ride.

A Hero Inspires Others

The story of The Greatest American Hero is fun, which is probably why my mother found my three-year-old self running around the house, going "whooooah!" and crashing into furniture whenever a certain song came on the radio. It took a while to figure out what I was up to, since I was so young she had not even realized I'd been paying attention when the show was on. Being the smart, intuitive Mom she was, she made me a costume.

Ralph Hinkley was my hero. Someone I aspired to be. I'm quite sure I also had a crush on him, as much as a three year old can have. I drew pictures of him in crayon, alongside other heroes like Hulk, alongside me in my own super suit.

It was the curly blonde 'fro that did it for me.

You see, it wasn't just that Ralph could fly and save people, it's that he couldn't do those things very well and yet he did them anyway. Every day he had the choice to walk away, to let people down and give in to his doubts. Who was he trying to kid? He had no idea how to do this! Superman had always been powerful; Batman had access to resources and tools no one else could even imagine. Spiderman at least understood having that great power and great responsibility thrust upon him, but his spider instincts ensured effortless use of his superhuman powers. Ralph was just an ordinary man. He had to put on the mantle of Hero knowing that he wouldn't be very good at it, that it would be difficult and embarrassing and people would think he was crazy.

And when he crashed, he got back up to try again. Because no one else could do it. That's a Hero who inspires people to do more and be more than they believe they can be.

That's what makes him The Greatest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Love this! I did actually know the show by the first photo - but I have an unusual (some would say unhealthy) life-long TV addiction. I think it is amazing that you still have access to these photos and your drawing. And your mom is the real hero in this story. Making you a costume to match his! So cool.

What an incredible piece of nostalgia. I loved this show. Great write up @wholeself-in

It's sad I do not know your hero. But you made him lovable. And your little replica of him was so cute. Ok- your drawings;the plus-like sign on the chest helped us recognised him.. Lol

Indeed there are many things that makes one a hero and in all these things one very thing that is common in them is the patience and time one has to go through all the time.
I have really made some point from your blog and am glad I met it today. Every second spent on your blog was worth all the time it had. Thumbs up for such an amazing blog. Great work and keep the writing spirit up always

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Moving story. There lies the beauty of these kinds of shows/characters. Even if by critics' standars they were subpar, they can affect people's lives possitively.
We usually get to these conclusions in retrospect, but it is great when we actually articulate this influence as we experience it.
I did not know about the character (and I grew up watching tons of american series). I'm sure I'd have liked it. Thanks for sharing this.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 203 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 4.06% upvote from us for your 999 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Hi @wholeself-in!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.604 which ranks you at #15759 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1337 places in the last three days (old rank 17096).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85