My first illustration for @pibara's novel, Ragnarok Conspiracy: I introduce you Azraella in the chapter 32

in #illustration5 years ago

¡Hola みなさま!~
Hello everybody!~

Post in Spanish


Azraella


AzraellaR.jpg

Very good evening, today I'll show you my first delivery of 12 illustrations set of the mythpunk novel, Ragnarok Conspiracy written by @pibara. This is the project which I'm currently working in cooperation with @pibara for a couple of months now when I won his contest which he made me a work proposal to illustrate his novel. I had to read the story, choose which chapters I would illustrate and make the sketches to be approved by the author. Today I introduce you Azraella, an alien character of the story who appears in the chapter 32.

If you want to support our community member, you can see the promotions of this February, with a special offer for venezuelans!

Here you can see the end result of his contest some months ago:
https://steemit.com/contest/@pibara/illustration-contest-congratulations-marylucy


Step by step

First I made sketch of Azraella, following pibara's post with references for some characters (https://steemit.com/fiction/@pibara/ragnarok-conspiracy-casting-reference-models-for-marylucy-to-work-with) plus specifications by discord where we've been in contact.

Azraella1.jpg


Drawing style I made it very realistic like contest's illustration, to ensure coherence between them. I used a palette of greyish tones for the character as the author's request, he wanted typical image of little-grey-man. This is my first attempt doing an alien and was very funny, we have more freedom in respect of anatomy.

Azraella2.jpeg


Then I continued detailling the rest of her Martian body xD, was very easy to my sorprise.

Azraella4.jpg

Satisfied with her appearance, started to add lights effects to correct the tone so that it could looks like she is floating inside a hibernation-capsule.


Azraella5.jpg

I was correcting wall's perspective and thinking about its texture, I had time searching reference photos because I wanted something technologic, spatial and peaceful, inspired in the essence of this species.

Azraella7.jpg


Then I tried various kind of walls, this one was my best and combined very well with capsule's door. Also I added hologram details on the glass, inspired by Passengers movie and panels with buttons on the wall was my invention.

Azraella10.jpg


And here is the final illustration, I detailed their shadows like no focal point even they are in spotlight.

AzraellaR.jpg


Honestly, thank you very much @pibara for this opportunity to work with him, it's been very productive for my artistic development and I hope I've given shape of his letters.

Thanks for see this post and your support, the next post will be new content. Also you can see Azraella on my instagram ^^. So, see you :P. I hope you visit @pibara's profile and read his awesome novel which is available in English for now.

Please respect our copyright.


Reference photos for this illustration

Sort:  

emoji_default_g_110_girl8_97f5be91_a3c2_426d_b7f5_b3f9900a823e_update_1536850765491.png

Congratulations @marylucy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @marylucy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87