Drawing Color! / Rei Ayanami (Anime: Neon Genesis Evangelion)

Hello Steemit friends, this time I bring a color drawing to change a bit the content that I have up until now and also upload a bit of anime-manga drawing; for most of all my drawings have been either realistic, artistic works and with chiaroscuro or shadow techniques.
Unlike the shading and drawing techniques in chiaroscuro, and pencil, I have not been too skilled in this, it is more, I regret to say that I'm just learning to color, and for this reason I would like to share a little of my learning and evolution in coloring methods. If you want to leave your advice and suggestions, with all the pleasure of the world I will read and carry them out. I am very grateful to my friend @jimhutch for helping me and recommending me to see Neon Genesis Evangelion, it was really worth it.
So, thank you very much for being here, I am E.S.Esquivel and I welcome you to this post:

Note: Before starting with the drawing procedure I will give a short description of this character and my review of the anime.

What is Neon Genesis Evangelion?


Source

Neon Genesis Evangelion is an anime and manga in which history takes place in a futuristic world in which a paramilitary organization called NERV protects humanity from the attacks of beings of unknown origin and nature, the "Angels" using it humanoid wicks called "EVA or Evangelion."

I have to say when I started to see Evangelion I had a great surprise, I have never been much of anime of Mecha genre, I have only seen Mazinger Z and its derivative series (since my dad bought it from my childhood) and the Titans movies of the Pacifico, but I had not seen much more of this genre. However, that's when a good friend named Jim comes in, he recommended this anime and spoke to me with great enthusiasm, so much that it inspired me to see him. And do not disappoint me, Neon Genesis Evangelion not only represents a good story and exciting moments, but also offers a lot of emotional and psychological content in many places I felt like Shinji, lost and distanced from people for fear of being rejected. And not only the main character is endearing, all the other characters are so vulnerable, deep and charismatic that we can worry about them and be interested in their development.

The psychological and even philosophical content of this story is delightful, as are the scenes of struggle of the EVAS against the Angels. The characters represent us a lot to what people are really, people with vulnerabilities, in constant confusion and doubts about issues like who we are or our purpose, also about our traumas and how there is a causality between these and our actions and way to behave in a changing environment that undoubtedly becomes hostile to our own interpretation of reality. Although I have to admit that the end of the anime I was disappointed at first, I expected a better outcome or at least something more conclusive in relation to all the characters, it is supposed to be the end. But after seeing it again and analyzing it, the strange taste of mouth that it left to me clarified a bit, and it can be explained in several ways, besides; if you take the story as the journey of the protagonist through his mental setbacks and difficulties to live and behave (that is, a history of the psychology of a character), rather than as a series of genre mecha and action; the end is very endearing. But if you expected action, if I understand the disappointment (I had it at the beginning), however, as an escape there are two continuation films that forget those chapters 25 and 26 of the anime and definitely end the story called Death and Rebirth and The End of Evangelion (which I have not seen yet, but I have been told that the end is very good). I give this anime 8.5 / 10.

Who is Rei Ayanami?

Rei is the first one chosen to pilot the Evangelion 00 unit. She serves as co-star of the story, being Shinji Ikari's partner in the battles against the angels. She is without a doubt my favorite character in this story (next to Shinji of course). Rei Ayanami is a girl of 14 years, blue hair and red eyes; She does not live with relatives or at least at the beginning of the story, it is not known that she has any living relative.
At first, I was fascinated by this character for what she was, a distant girl and one who was distancing herself from others. I knew I had a big secret, but I never image what she really is. I will not give them Spoilers about their origin because everything is very linked to the main plot and the outcome of the story.

Its development with the other characters is very interesting, and more knowing its true nature. Although in the manga the evolution is much more evident and appreciable (only by Rei I will read it completely). I have to mention the moments of her and Shinji, very endearing, being my favorite in the chapter in which she protects him from an Angel and Shinji when he defeats the Angel, he goes to see his companion. He cries and she does not know how to feel or how to react, and he says: smile, to what she does. A simply great moment of a great anime character in general, and who deserves to be one of the most representative faces of Neon Genesis Evangelion.

Now, let's go to the drawing!

Procedure in the realization:

1. There is not an initial sketch, because I started making the drawing without having the phone at hand, so instead I will place two photographs of the initiation of the hair coloring process.












2. It is continued coloring the hair and defining more the face, in addition to coloring the eyes.


3. The hair is completely defined and the final coloring process is started.

4. Finished hair (you can appreciate the different tone that hair takes thanks to other lighting).



5. After finishing the blue hair with green tones of Rei, we began to better define the girl's costume.


6. The drawing is completed by coloring Rei's skin. We have finished!

The original image was of a magazine that I found in the drawing academy where I attend (what an incredible coincidence!)


All photographs and drawings without a source were taken and made by me respectively; @ erick.esquivel (E.S.Esquivel)

If you want to see more of my drawings but in black and white, and making use of the shading techniques, I leave the following link: https://steemit.com/art/@erick.esquivel/mi-introduccion-y-evolucion-en-el-dibujo-artistico-iniciacion-en-las-tecnicas-de-sombreado-parte-1

That has been all for this occasion my friends, leave in the comments that you thought the drawing and if you want, your advice to help me improve, I would appreciate it very much. We read later!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erick.esquivel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23