Are We Truly Free?

in #independenceday6 years ago (edited)

35051327_2507303545962525_139248998719422464_n.jpg

I can see the flag of my beloved country all over the place. It is visible in the grocery stores, barber shops, kiosks and cars. I wonder if there is a law regarding it or is it just a way of Filipinos to celebrate the Independence Day? I think the latter is the answer. As a citizen of the Philippines, we are aware of the history. We know by heart how much our ancestors fought for our freedom. As I walk the streets, I cannot help but ask the freedom we are celebrating right now. Are we truly free?

For us to determine if we are truly free, it is important to understand first what freedom really means. According to Merriam dictionary, “liberation from slavery or restraint or from the power of another,” is what freedom is all about. In other words, it means being free from being slave. We are masters of our own. I can visualize how a master thinks and behaves; they have their own choices to make. But the reality is, many still are slaves to poverty, violence and colonial mentality.

If we are truly free, how can there be a presidential speech while a rally is going on? If we are truly free, how can there be a killer on our neighborhood safely hidden in our midst? If we are truly free, how can there be a foreign song going on viral?

I am not blaming the president of the country, the peace-keeping officers in the community nor the people who enjoy foreign stuffs. This is a heartache I have ever since I learned to think for myself. How much I admire countries like Japan and U.S.A. There citizens have the liberty to enjoy life to the fullest. I know that we have the potential as a country to excel like them. We just have to start within us.

Rather than complaining, why don’t we try to evaluate things and start thinking for a solution? Surely, this country cannot be managed by one person alone. This country had been fought for by thousands of courageous men in our history. Their bloodshed should not be wasted but be an inspiration for us to keep their legacy.

This is my prayer for our country:
Heavenly Father, I thank you for my country Philippines. It has been declared that we are one of the few countries in Asia that is dominantly Christians. I hope that you will heal each one of us from our sins. I thank you for forgiving us through your blood. Apart from what you have done on the cross will there ever be real freedom. Transform us every day that we may be a blessing to our nation and not a burden. I know there is hope in my nation because our hope is in you. Amen.

Photo by Krisia Vinzon from Pexel.com

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Signs point to yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Okay magic8ball

"Freedom: To ask nothing. To expect nothing. To depend on nothing." ~ Ayn Rand

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13