An instance from everyday life during heavy rains

in #india5 years ago

A quick post describing what it's like to live in a small city in India during a monsoon season and what it's like to work from home dealing with basic necessities like electricity.

Growing up in the early 90s in a city that receives heavy rainfall:
Electricity cut 5-20 minutes before it rains heavily and no electricity for the next 6-10 hours (more sometimes) or intermittent supply of electricity if you're lucky!

Life in 2019, some 30 years later:
Electricity cut 5-20 minutes before it rains heavily and no electricity for the next 6-10 hours (more sometimes) or intermittent supply of electricity if you're lucky!

Power backup luckily ensures my work isn't affected for the most part. After bugging my local ISP for a year (couple of years ago), he now has sufficient (kinda insufficient IMHO) power backup to supply internet for 6-8 hrs before his backup runs out and I'm back in the stone ages as mobile data remains crap at my place as always as a 'dependable' backup option.

If electricity comes back on early, it is a good indication rain may stop or slow down. But I'm basically thrilled as my ISP has electricity now! In the last two hours as I was contemplating posting this here, we've had 2 short power cuts as the intensity of the rain increased and it's 2.30 am already! 😂

Life is a Jugaad here no matter how many advances in technology. 😆

If you are wondering what 'Jugaad' means don't forget to Google this awesome Indian word. It has so many application. Infact it was a key word during the SF2 keynote speech ;)

But as far as my hometown is concerned, I guess somethings never change in this country.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #90

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

We Indians have always a backup plan called Jugaad and I m witness of constant 127 hours without electricity in my small remote village near For forest in 1983 due to heavy rains

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72