Cyclone Mekunu: My Hometown Mangalore Begins To Flood

in #india6 years ago

Today, as Cyclone Mekunu reaches our coastline this is what is happening. My motoring club is a strong network of individuals and we're keeping our family and friends updated on the situation. 3 days ago I wrote a post casually mentioning how the rains were messing with some aspects of our daily lives. Now it's taking things to the next level.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-29 at 4.14.47 PM (3).jpeg

In the past 6-8 hours Mangalore city streets and the major national highway 66 running through the city is water logged. Major entry and exit points of the city are flooded. Traffic has piled up for miles. We've had some minor issues at our home with water seeping into one of the rooms due to a clogged pipe.

My neighbourhood is starting to get waterlogged. Fortunately for my mom and I, our house is slightly elevated from the road so I don't expect any issues here yet. However my friend @shenoy's house is waterlogged as you can see in the pic below. Fortunately his folks who live there are fine and are helping their neighbours.

As usual there's no electricity, internet connection is down, but I kept my devices charged up last night and I'm writing this post from my car as I can't get a good signal on my mobile devices at home. So I'm just outside trying to stay updated on the situation. I'm also using my car to charge up my phone at the moment to avoid running out of charge on my power bank.

A few of my friends work on the outskirts of the city and I've been informing them of the best possible routes to enter back in. If you are a local you know the alternative routes in and out of the city here.


Can you spot a National Highway here?

We're also keeping travellers updated on the road network in this area on a pan-India motoring group of thousands of users on FB as the NH66 is a major highway that connects important cities and passes through my city. Lots of people use it to travel to tourist destinations of Goa and Kerala as well other destinations in coastal Karnataka. Mangalore is a major pitstop on the route and a hub connecting 2 big highways.


My neighbourhood

Earlier today, I ventured into town to get some supplies home and saw bit of the mess that our city is in. The highway was completely clogged but luckily my route was relatively clear. I've never seen such traffic jams in my city before. It is stretching for miles!

My expectation is that in 24 hrs this situation should improve and once the cyclone passes our lives should get back to normal. The following images were shared in our whatsapp group and the sources are mostly unknown.

According to latest reports the rains are supposed to intensify through the night. Let's see how it goes.

Can you spot a snake?


Few kids being rescued

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-29 at 4.14.47 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-29 at 4.14.47 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-29 at 4.14.48 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-29 at 4.14.48 PM (2).jpeg


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From International Steem Meetup #1—Malaysia
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Steem.Chat Contest #28

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Oh here in shimoga it's continuously raining so that the reason. But here not like flood acting like a rainy season

This looks really bad. Please be safe @firepower. Wish you guys good luck!

So sad bro I hope the flood will clear soon

This is so heartbreaking to see :( I hope everyone is safe @firepower

Oh the flood is much over there i feel for your city I pray that everything goes back to normal soon🙏

the incessant rain caused banyir struck, how sad and feel sorry for this disaster, may you-you remain steadfast in the face of this natural disaster.

The deep depression has developed into Cyclone Mekunu over Southwest Arabian Sea, move north westwards and is likely to intensify into severe cyclonic storm towards south east of Oman. ... "Due to the presence of Severe Cyclonic Storm ‘Mekunu’,

Hope everything is ok with you and @geetharao.

Man, don't really know what to say. But, i believe that its going to be over soon, my deepest sympathy. The government should make future plans on how to over see these disaster, to avoid re-occurence.

What kind of snake? It is really freaking me out.
I grew up in the south where it floods in Texas near the coast.
Keep up with the news and stay safe. Resteeming this for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31