Hal Finney - An Original Cypherpunk -- We owe a lot to these guys who founded Cryptography based on LIBERTY principles.


We are in the early days in crypto

if you are reading this today anywhere close to when I am writing this, July of 2018


One of my more senior friends in the crypto space than me James shares some good thoughts for humanity on the regular and I always enjoy seeing what he is thinking.

Today he posted this and it got me thinking how lucky we are.

Being in the crypto space in early days here, and it is the middle of 2018.



“It seemed so obvious to me.

Here we are faced with the problems of loss of privacy, creeping computerization, massive databases, more centralization - and Chaum offers a completely different direction to go in, one which puts power into the hands of individuals rather than governments and corporations. The computer can be used as a tool to liberate and protect people, rather than to control them."

— Hal Finney, Cypherpunks Mailing List in 1992

That top photo is a well known / usual photo of Hal Finney and you know -- I am just thankful today for all his work and Liberty based focus along with all those other people.... legendary names in the space blazing this trail for freedom.

Thanks guys.

I know they will never read this.


Your friend in Liberty

Sort:  

Crypto OGs nice @barrydutton.

Nick Szabo's essays are great. All these guys made huge contributions to what we have here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98