People’s most personal information not so personal

DNA Website My Heritage Hacked; 92 Million User Accounts Exposed

https://www.zerohedge.com/news/2018-06-05/dna-website-myheritage-hacked-92-million-user-accounts-exposed

Now ain’t that just the pits. My whole “heritage” is now under the control of those who have malicious intent. It’s just incredible? Now don’t get me wrong, the science under the hood of that project is suspect to begin with:

“They might match your DNA to some group on some continent, but what they don’t tell you is that you would probably also match the group next door if only they had some of those samples as well”.

https://www.livescience.com/2084-dna-kits-secrets-scientific-scam.html

So there yah go! People do not mind giving their most personal data away.. for nothing! Oh sorry they actually paid for the “service”. Wow..

However in a more secretive Orwellian nightmare DNA can be collected anywhere (legally or not). This is just on a mass scare. In other news, and other ways to track me:

C2E3DD29-34EB-488D-8D18-AD580DD47997.jpeg

Internet is back on..

Sort:  

Hmm DNA scam, it doesn't really look scary but if you say this is what it is then I would break the device. It looks so fragile.

Privacy sadly is a thing of the past like the old VHS tapes or corded phone. I have not voluntarily given any of my DNA and do not plan to. Yes a scary world we live in. Thanks @bearbear613

Agree, people have sacrificed their privacy for the convenience of SMART devices and “cool” internet sites a long time ago. .
BTW, I’m far from being a conspiracy theorist however I heard SMART stands for Surveillance Marketed As Revolutionary Technology. :) When you think about it, suddenly it makes perfect sense. :)

Just one reason not to get swabbed. I wonder who is going to buy this information...?

great. now I can't find out where my ancestors came from!
I had no idea these DNA things were a scam, thanks for warning us sirbearbear!

Hopefully it wasn't the Russians.. if it was anyone else i think we're fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09