What Big Pharma Won't Tell You - Part 3

Howdy fellow Steemians!!

pills.png

It's Monday again, and time for an update!

(wait...it's Tues...nesday? It's a weekday. I'll leave it at that.)

Over the last couple of weeks, I have written posts addressing the high price of prescription medicine. You can read part 1 and part 2 of this series to find helpful, money-saving information about how to get your prescription medication for less!

In part 3 here, I present my evidence, after visiting 2 different pharmacies to refill 2 different medicines.

You'll recall in Part 2, I filled one prescription at that bigbox store we all (sometimes) affectionately refer to as WallyWorld.

Yes, Paris. They, like, sell wall stuff. Heck, they probably even sell actual walls.
(Bless your heart.)

But, back to business...

Having been to the first pharmacy, and receiving a deep discount, I thought I'd check out a couple of different ones, to confirm whether or not this discount program named goodrx was the real deal.

First up: my local HEB Supermarket.


Here, we see that the retail price was $31.88. Once the e-coupon goodrx had texted to my phone was applied, the cost went down to $24.94. Sure, it's not a huge savings, but every bit helps, amirite? I mean--you can get a sack of potatoes, a gallon of milk, a couple of onions and a gallon of gas for $7!!
(we also see that the same medication, same quantity, at the "other" pharmacy I originally visited six weeks prior cost me $55.19. I should have shopped around then, as well.)

Next, I headed toward Walgreens to purchase my remaining medicine.


Again, I presented an e-coupon, and saved over 50% off the retail price!!

Conclusion

The goodrx program is legit. You can save a little, and sometimes save a lot, as we saw in Part 2 of this series.

In the next installment in this series, I will be refilling these prescriptions, using a "medicine-by-mail" program.

That program was brought to my attention by a community services agent I spoke with, after having called 211 for resource information. And let me tell y'all, there's a LOTof resources out there that aren't widely known.
I will be sharing my experience in an upcoming post.

Disclaimer

I am in no way affiliated with any of the companies mentioned here. This post is for informational purposes only.
(image sources: mcaz.co.zw / imgflip.com)

If you enjoyed reading, please consider upvoting, resteeming or making your voice heard in the comment section!

(insert custom logo thingy here)
~Jane

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00