Documentary about my people! Huge document found!

This is actually pretty recent history of my people and is pretty tragic.

@janton

And honestly enough the travesty against other human beings that has happened upon this continent is really not being told or recorded.

This treaty was done in good faith and then the forced removal of my family to the Fort Hall Indian Reservation was complete.

A national park that everybody can go playing happens to be my home and I'm not allowed to live there or to follow my traditional ways.

Not only has the property been taken but the land has been destroyed the salmon runs have been nearly exterminated. And the game now has only a fraction of their original numbers.

Honestly enough this documentary doesn't say anything about the 1806 treaty with Lewis and Clark. Honoring us for search historical support.

If you want to know why I have issues, how about adding some generational Trauma from this entire situation. Add in the forced relocation and abuse from the reservations as well as residential schools. Let's just say the 1940s 50s 60s 70s was not very kind to indigenous Native Americans.

https://news.wsu.edu/2019/04/04/wsu-documentary-shoshone-bannock-unratified-treaty-air/?utm_source=WSUNews-enewsletter&utm_campaign=wsunewsenewsletter&utm_medium=email

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is a discussion I have with my Native friends a lot. While I acknowledge the oppression directed towards Natives I want them to know that many groups that were separate from society at large were oppressed similarly, like the Douhkobors.

In fact my people the Scots faced a very similar experiences first the murderous Highland Clearances then outlawing our traditional clothing and suppressing our language and evicting us from our tribal (clan) land.

The same Norman ruling class did this to both our people.

The 1940s 50s 60s 70s was not very kind to my Scotch Canadian family either, abandoned by their father my mom and uncle went to an orphanage while my grandma worked, this was just like a residential school, mom raped by stepfather at 12, uncle dead at 23 from a heroin overdose, me raised on welfare by an alcoholic single mother, hard times.

In my country at least their is still a problem with negative attitudes towards Natives and Natives also have a negative attitude towards white people, often blaming us as whole for their travails( Not that you have done this).

I'm OK with your people and other native groups advocating for redress of lost privileges but I also encourage you be a part of your nation at large.

I find this very smart to know your history and to know your heritage.

I absolutely do believe in cultural and generational trauma from some pretty horrific events that we shouldn't forget.

Thank you for your reply and everyday is a new day that we can change and break the old cycles and make new ones

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy sir ganjafarmer! well I'd be shocked if there were ANY Indigenous people who didn't have major issues with the federal government. Forced relocation FROM the reservations?? what in the world, I gotta read about this stuff, thanks so much for the links!

Our trail of tears. Forced relocation in 1905.

Posted using Partiko Android

man, that is the definition of injustice! And no one knows about it except your people.

I keep telling people the only reparations needed are giving land back to the tribes, not money
to the blacks. I know some of the dems are talking about making reparations to the blacks
a campaign issue this year and it boggles the mind.

But do they have some legal experts or good attorneys to look at that situation because it
sounds like they have a legal standing for a lawsuit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34