Proton VPN, It's Free and Simple - Perfect for Us Beginners!

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

free-vpn-800x400.jpg

Privacy... Some care about it but most don't.


I have been wanting to get a VPN since a while but it's not so easy for me to pay by using a bank because I don't use them since many years. There's also the point that even if I did own a bank card, then what is the point really of getting a VPN to stay anonymous, but then pay with a card registered to your name? Firstly I was looking at Tor Guard and it appealed to me because I like that Tor exists, and the VPN service has good ratings and reviews and most of all, that you can pay with Crypto. I did try to pay with Monero (XMR) because its anonymous, but after several attempts it didn't work.

If you would like that nobody can spy on you by reading your emails and don't want to have others in the future causing problems from your Collected Data then its best to not be using Gmail, or Hotmail and other company's alike because they give no promises that your mail is private. When people say they have nothing to hide and that they don't need a VPN, that's just exactly what the people who collect data on you want you to say. The truth is for example that FakeBook Messenger, if you read the small print, has some very worrying parts to the Terms & Conditions that everyone has legally agreed to. You want to know?! Ill copy and paste as quoted from the Huffinton Post:

  • Allows the app to record audio with microphone. This permission allows the app to record audio at any time without your confirmation.

  • Allows the app to take pictures and videos with the camera. This permission allows the app to use the camera at any time without your confirmation.

  • Allows the app to read you phone's call log, including data about incoming and outgoing calls. This permission allows apps to save your call log data, and malicious apps may share call log data without your knowledge.

  • Allows the app to read data about your contacts stored on your phone, including the frequency with which you've called, emailed, or communicated in other ways with specific individuals.

  • Allows the app to read personal profile information stored on your device, such as your name and contact information. This means the app can identify you and may send your profile information to others.

  • Allows the app to access the phone features of the device. This permission allows the app to determine the phone number and device IDs, whether a call is active, and the remote number connected by a call.

  • Allows the app to get a list of accounts known by the phone. This may include any accounts created by applications you have installed.

In the future when cash is no more, Data will be the new currency.

People have the right to have privacy, and you have all the information about you to hide, although its most likely too late and Facebook has all those years, most likely a decade of everything you added on Facebook. You remember that "craze" of tagging on the map your location and posting it? Every emotion icon you used after writing something? What you ate for dinner, your eating habits. The clothes you wear and buy. You have most likely gave a good 3d map of your own home also from taking photos of every single thing that you ate, or drank, or got given, or brought for yourself. Maybe a decade or more? How long and how often did \ do you post to Facebook and take selfies? Facial expressions have surely been collected and not to mention a constant need to scroll and to see what others are doing has become an addiction.

Anyway this post isn't and wont turn into a Facebook post!


Ok , I hear some people saying "So what could be done with all this collected data, and why is it so powerful?"

To keep it short, here's a very easy example that just arose in thought - we all know that spy's are used in wars I'm sure, dating back 100's of years with double agents and triple agents even. It must be very powerful to know what people are doing if spy's were and are so common that they even make films about them? Just from watching a movie you can see the effects of collecting information on people so from this retrospect-

What's the difference even if there's no physical war, but a war to win your mind?!


There's a really good film, its a German film but I'm sure there's subtitles and English versions. The film is called "The Life of Others". When I watched this I couldn't believe that it was a recent history. It shows what happened in the cold war there, and how spying is so powerful how it manipulated people into doing terrible things even to family members because other people had secret information on them that they were blackmailed with, or face prison for un-true accusations and false evidence and lies.

Image I hear and see many people now, everyday people having VPN's on their phones and computers, and awareness is spreading and more advertising of VPN's are being created and seen. I personally don't use Facebook to message people since a while and I choose to just use encrypted email services instead as an app on a smartphone. I use- and I notice many others are also using Proton Mail, which is website based with also an app for android and most likely for all devices. Its encrypted so much so, that if you ever have to reset your password then all your previous messages are in encryption format when you log back in- and even Proton Mail themselves say that they are not able do de-crypt the mails.

Setting up an Email, is very easy with the App or online at the website, and then you can get the free VPN they offer also.

It takes no space and is quick to download, just choose a name, and a password and its ready! I like the layout and you can even set a destruct timer that recently found by accident. I personally don't really need or use this feature, but a good feature never the less. You can choose from Standard Encryption or you can get Extreme Encryption and both options are free.

There's also a Desktop App for it as well for windows or MacOs found here

You get 2 free servers to use in the Netherlands and in the USA to use, but I believe for p2p you must have the paid version, and unlike other free VPNs this one dosn't just stop working after some time.


There are many other VPN's out there available, and I have no affiliation to Protonmail or ProtonVPN, I'm just a happy user of both products and would like to share the knowledge for other Steemians who want a VPN but are not sure how to start or where to look. This post was for you!

Stop -

Boasting about what your doing and who your doing it with and then giving that info to the governments. You CANNOT trust them with information about your private life. If you don't care and are shrugging your shoulders at this article - then that's a sad one because that means they have taken even your will to have true freedoms.

Start -

Being more humble, and loose the newly formed "need" to be looking at the screen every 10 seconds when you have nothing to do. In these moments of having nothing to do, this is YOUR PERSONAL TIME - something that is getting less and less as technology consumes our lives.


Big Love And Blessings & Pronoia To You All! It's ALL For YOU!

Sort:  

Great content these days man! Keep it up!

Thanks for the compliment! Its very nice to be writing again and not just on paper, and it's all your fault!

Intresting post i love it

TODAY I Uninstalled the facebook android app!

2 years ago I stopped using it and finally February this year I deleted my account. Funny thing, while secure phones are business for me, I want to get rid completely from using phones. Enjoyed 3 posts of you today :) - and not on the phone.

I don't even chat to people on facebook since joining on Steemit lol.. I am proud to say that i have an account since years, maybe even 10 years, and none of my info was ever true that I provided. Im lucky never to have had the name on my passport linked to me on facebook :) What exiting days we are living in to see the outcome of all this data leaking and selling etc ..

Nice to meet you.. Thor?

added.. just followed you and saw your name :) hygellig!

I'm even more bothered by the very probable fact that the so called "social media" is very influenced by government or near organizations. And I have the feeling that the point is to succeed 3 things with it:

  • controlling the slaves/drones
  • making the slaves uncomfortable to say what they really think, and avoid herewith uprising groups
  • making the slaves even more dizzy with more and more information and disinformation

In the year 2004 I stopped reading newspaper, watching tv and listening radio. Since then I was searching more and more information about the world we are living in and questioning also more and more. Sometimes I'm so tired of this fucked up world that I wish for a moment I would be one of the drones - but this is only for few seconds in my mind.
Nice to meet you moving man - couldn't find your name yet, if it is even in your posts. But how I have at the moment to move a lot and I have the issue open more on more tabs on the browser with post I wanted also to read, it will take me some more time to maybe find a hint :) But I look forward to see you one day in real life. Hygellig! (Just learned a new word in Norwegian)

My name is Dan, but im staying anon on here :) That;s really cool to avoid media for so long! Im 8 years at least in being free from reading any mainstrem news and its peaceful!!

I wish for a moment I would be one of the drones - but this is only for few seconds in my mind.

I had this the first few years - and yes like you say it lasts just a second lol. I was waiting one time 3 days at a gas station for a ride in my early days of moving around, and a for the first day i was getting pissed off that i couldn't get a ride.. then that thought came to me and I answered out loud " Still id rather be sat here than sat on a sofa in a house!"

Its amazing how deep the conditioning really is that even like us, we have had that thought "ignorance is bliss" "why did i ever ask questions" but the truth is we would be very sick and find it unbearable to go backwards, because we are awake!
what country are you in? Welcome to Steemit by the way! I hope to be reading some cool stuff from you perspectiv of life!!

Loading...

Also i have one post with a libary where i managed to collect links for all my posts.. maybe oneday steemit will have a "search" option to type in a title of a post to save people looking through!

Just had the idea to find it for you ! https://steemit.com/steemit/@movingman/movingman-s-personal-libary-sorted-out

Thank you :)
Normally, at least at the moment I search for the introduction post, what is often very hard because it's buried under all the hundreds of new posts. How you manage this with the link list. I had experienced that I couldn't change my (first) post anymore after 7 days.
But I have maybe an idea...no I some minutes busy with the steem-python library :) I wil let you know.

Its true, you can only edit a post for 7 days.. i just copied the links and wrote a new post, and just have it saved on a word file and I add to it and re-save. man you should just be working with programming if you arn't already? i am not tech friendly at all hahahaha i get lost with anything more than firefox!

:D I am ;) Till I got caged I made secure phones - and I think to start over another time with it. But for long term I want to make my living with stuff to bring more freedom and voluntaryism further.

Posted using Partiko Android

You should try find Steemians that are doing the coding or whatever its called, a fantastic idea and looks easy to accomplish! will be very useful indeed :) Im not sure who to show it too on here though?

At the moment I am a little bit busy, but in a free minute (or 3h) I will put up an page to search for the introduction post of the user. Also I dislike the search on steemit through google, so here it would be also nice to make a nice search interface.

Posted using Partiko Android

And the end I did it although I had should done other things. Later, probably more tomorrow, I will write a post about it. But now you can enter a users name in https://stool.tk and if there is in the first 15 posts one tagged with introduceyourself it will show this post :)

Loading...

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85