Democratic Mayor of Dallas Texas resigns and pleads guilty to Corruption charges.

in #informationwar6 years ago

Dwaine-R_-Caraway-661x349-picsay.jpg

So this is my first official post. Im starting with politics and as far as I see, this is an interesting story of the day.

The Mayor of Dallas Texas by the name of Dwaine Caraway resigned from his seat today after pleading guilty to corruption charges and taking bribes in the amount of around $450k.

This was his official statement:

"Over the past several weeks, through a lot of prayer and soul searching, I have decided that I must take responsibility for my actions, I have dedicated much of my life to serving others, but have never claimed to be without sin. I am truly sorry that I must end my career as an elected official because I betrayed the public's trust that I worked so very hard to earn."

I dont care personaly that this is a Democrat. I know and understand that these kinds of people are on both sides of the isle.

Im trying to show a point here that we cannot as people in the United States trust 100% in any political party. There is so much hate for either Republicans or Democrats but never do we actually look at both sides with eyes wide open and expecting the bad to show itself.

We have to be watchful and hold these public servants accountable for thei actions.

This mans sentencing is scheduled for December 14th.

Do I think he is going to be treated like a normal person would be ? No I dont think so.

That also is a huge problem in our society and our judicial system. Everything depends on who you know, how much money you have and so on.

That kind of treatment is so unfair to a person like you and me but it is also so corrupted and defended that its almost impossible to penetrate and change.

According to the plea agreement, if the court accepts the deal cut with federal prosecutors, Caraway will agree to pay a six-figure fine, as well as almost $69,000 owed to the Internal Revenue Service.

Do you think he will go to jail like you or me would ? No he will not.

"Today is a day of both reckoning and reconciliation for the city of Dallas and its citizens," U.S. Attorney Erin Nealy Cox said Thursday.

I dont agree with this man because Caraway will most likely never serve any time in jail which is only because he has lots of money to pay and contacts to keep him out of it.

The man will never understand the true crime he commited as a public official that had the trust of the people and betrayed it.

The only plus is that he will never be able to hold a public office again or so I hope so he cannot commit the same crime and if not caught, the next time he might have actually gotten away with it.

Thanks

Sort:  

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Congratulations @stylom! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77