my introduction post, independent journalist Tom Duggan in Syria

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

29790950_591558371178434_5633959162413574331_n.jpg


Hello steemit, my name is Tom Duggan, I work independently as a journalist.


Before I tell you about me and my aims, I would like to say a massive thank you to you all, you via @deliberator who is my main fund raiser and fund raising manager - raised enough money to buy and ship me a new video camera, that is essential to my work here, another kind soul @jimbobbill took the time to post it to me, and is working out how to get the extra funds raised to me in Syria, it is not easy to send anything here due to sanctions, nothing is easy here, even sleeping when paid mercenaries are bombing us at night, plus other countries!.

I had a long list of people to say thank you to, though I lost it whilst on a trip to film, so can only name the few that stuck in my mind, that were drummed into me by Darren. @evehuman @lyndsaybowes you two were easy to remember, @acedawnmusic @v4vapid @perceptualflaws @fulltimegeek @freebornangel and everyone I have missed off the list, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.


I have made a video for you, please watch it to the end.



30594566_2112606595431055_1630872749570260992_n.jpg


I may not be able to post every day, though will let Darren do updates at times I take trips - I spend a week or more sometimes on the front line. I have had cameras shot out of my hands, I have shrapnel in my foot from a bomb, I face danger everyday, though no more than anyone else here, I am not exceptional other than I chose to stay, though so did many millions of other people, so if by staying makes me special, it makes everyone in Syria special also. I hope you love us here, as we love you back.


Thank you kindly for taking me in, thank you @informationwar for this account, thank you @stevescoins also, @truthforce and @ausbitbank, I love you all.


You can also find me on facebook here https://www.facebook.com/tom.duggan.940 and also on youtube if you click that video above.

I hope I have written all this okay?

Sort:  

Hello tomduggan! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Still trying to figure it all out, thank you for the advice.

Welcome to Steem Community @tomduggan! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

You made it, welcome aboard bro.

Thank you for all your help.

Welcome to Steemit! Glad that you are here with us now!

Below we have some helpful links to what we are all about and the contributing writers/supporters/leadership of the @informationwar are in the Roll Call link below as well :)

I would be happy to add your name to the Roll Call list if you would like. Thanks!

Curated for #informationwar (by @truthforce)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 150+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 8

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

I shall try to get involved as much as time permits, thank you for the amazing support.

Hello @informationwar,
I just read year blog and noticed you are gathering information and freedom fighters with resteeming on your blog.
Here are 2 more of them who are really worth to have a look:
@suzi3d

@ramolad

Best regards and a wonderful day
@wonderlamp
wonderlampsmall.png

@informationwar, @wonderlamp followed your trail already...

Independent journalism has a home here on Steemit. Thank you for joining, thank you for all that you do. @ironshield

Thank you for the warm welcome, it has been a nice surprise here.

Welcome to Steemit Tom. It is a pleasure to have you here in the community and we will support you. The truth will set you free.
We need the truth to fight a good fight. Bless you and stay safe.

That is such a relief to hear, I was expecting people to not want to know.

Welcome aboard Tom, nice to have you here. Look forward to your reports!

thank you, I look forward to providing you all insight into the war here.

Hey @tomduggan .. great to have you here, shining your light and walking where others fear to tread! Thank you for the shout out and it was a pleasure to help, let me know if you need anything else.

I have heard about you via Darren, all good also, thank you for the warm welcome, I will let you know if I need any help, I may need help with the dtube part soon.

Welcome to the steem ecosystem. I am glad you made it here. I know you have been here vicariously through the works of several others, but it is very nice to have you here yourself.

Thank you kindly, yes Darren was supporting my work, though you all helped give me funds, and of course a new camera, and for that I am forever grateful.

welcome tom.have been following your work about syria and all the atrocities done over there and i truly believe and admire your work.

that is most kind of you, I shall try to serve you well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11