Alien At Work

in #informationwar5 years ago

That's how I felt today at the day-job: like an alien. One year ago this same place was buzzing with familiar sounds, a lot of those about the booming crypto-markets and the future of money, I felt right at home...


night-television-.jpg
source: Pexels

But today, and the past few moths really, I've not been able to strike a normal conversation with my colleagues other than work-talk. You see, my problem is with TV. Apparently the television is still king, right alongside queen Facebook. I don't watch television other than every other week on Sunday when there's Formula 1 or Moto GP races to watch, so I have nothing to contribute to all the talk about who won "The Voice", what's been going on in "Utopia", what happened in the last exciting episode of "Game of Thrones"... It's all alien to me.

It's not that I think everything on TV is bad, I even plan on binge-watching Game of Thrones once the series has finished, and there's some Netflix marvel series I'll definitely will see some day, but I've given up on the medium since I noticed how it's being used as a control mechanism, and how much it has become a business as opposed to the public service it once was and should still be. I do watch movies still, and I recently saw one I've long been waiting for: Incredibles 2.

I don't want to spoil anything, but I'll say that the main villain (aptly named "The ScreenSlaver") controls his victims and enemies through the television screen; since I'm outside the TV-sphere, I've noticed how true this message is. There's incredible power in the ability to literally control "the talk of the day". Apparently our local soccer team (football is for Americans only, the rest of the world plays soccer ;-)) won their first match this season, which is great news of course...


On a positive note: Incredibles 2 is awesome!
Incredibles 2 Official Trailer

Of course, but I missed it, like I always miss it. I don't know when the sports sections in both newspaper and television programming became as important as the actual news, but it's been in my lifetime. The mere fact that sports results are part of and inseparable from the news should tell you something. Rooting for the local sports team has become more important to people than keeping the democracy alive by voting every four years.

I actually resent the fact that I feel stupid for not knowing anything about the latest celebrity marriage or the tragic death of some little girl that got hit by an out of control train. I'm happy for the celebs and I'm sad for the parents of the little girl, but should these topics dominate daily social conversations? Really? But they do. Every day. I think that's incredible, especially when we have the internet and we can all individually decide what we like to watch when we want to watch it. It's incredible and, for me, alienating. Sometimes I feel like shouting "Are You Not Entertained!!!?!", like Russel Crowe in Gladiator, whenever a group of people discuss among them that tragic death...


Gladiator Are You Not Entertained Russell Crowe

The one positive thing about this is the fact that TV seems to bind people, it gives them something in common, which surely must be a good thing in these highly individualistic times. Unfortunately this isn't the case; the topics that people's attention is focused on are generally either insignificant or harmful to society. TV is a business, culture is a business, Halloween is a business, they've all been appropriated by the markets. The next commercial spending spree is always just around the corner: Christmas is almost upon us.

Do you know why there are "laugh tracks" added to so many tv sitcoms? Have you ever seen one with the "canned laughter" removed?


The Big Bang Theory - No Laugh Track 1 (Avoiding the Shamy)

At the end of this post I'll link another video about the history of canned laughter (and other audible audience reactions like cheering and booing), but the point is that television is increasingly becoming a substitute for real life and real emotions. I sit in front of a screen many hours a day, at work and at home, but I'm the one doing the programming. At least I like to think so even when I know I'm being steered by google's search algorithms; I can consciously choose to fight against that programming attempt by regularly clicking on opinions I don't agree with, and I often do.

All I want to say is that today it really hit me how much society is controlled by popular media in general and television specifically. I really had some Stepford Wifes-moments walking past vividly discussing colleagues as they spoke in a language I don't know. The topics discussed were unknown to me and the creatures discussing them might as well have come from another planet. When one of them congratulated me with the victory of the local soccer team I smiled back and secretly praised the speed with which the coffee-machine prepared my drink, so I could be on my way almost instantly.

I'm glad I'm back among kindred souls here on steemit. I just got home and had to get this of my chest. Thank you, dear reader, for enduring this weird day with me :-)


How Do Laugh Tracks Work?


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Diffusion Of Cryptocurrencies
The End Of EverythingBears Or Dapps?
Made Me A Minnow :-)Believe Your Lying Eyes!
Divide Et ImperaDemise Of The Common Good

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

LOL! Exactly what I meant to say in 5 seconds.... Brilliant comment @yestermorrow! Thanks! ;-)

Curated for #informationwar (by @rycharde)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 9,500 Steem Power and 40+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

I also have the same problem, @zyx066 .... I dont watch TV very much anymore and my coworkers are talking about The Bachelor or some reality shows and I'm like... ??????

Totally relating to your "Stepford Wives"ing moment at work, from time to time, I stopped and reflected and I'm like gee, everyone kind of either pretending so well that they are thinking similarly or everyone IS thinking similarly.

SPOOKY

And yes, I notice people are freaking glued to TV and entertainment news!

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.465 which ranks you at #6547 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 37 places in the last three days (old rank 6510).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #78.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88