Brainwash Super Bowl

in #informationwar5 years ago

I like movies, so I know last week the annual Superbowl was broadcast in the United States. I don't care about the sport, so I've never seen a full match of American Football in my life, but most new movie trailers for the biggest titles are always shown during this annual sports-event.


american-football_small.jpg
Image by Apafios - source: Pixabay

It's kind of amazing and disturbing to realize that the commercials around our modern gladiator spectacle are as famous worldwide as the event itself is in the U.S. For the purpose of writing today's short article I've looked up some data, so now I know that the New England Patriots defeated the Los Angeles Rams 13-3, and that this year's Super Bowl had the lowest viewership since 2008, with around 100 million viewers in America. Also I learned that the price for a 30 second commercial is a whopping 5.25 million dollar.

But no price is too high for our corporate rulers in order to control our minds. With 100 million viewers, it's a chance not to be missed to speak to the subconscious minds of the masses. This year's most watched commercials were particularly dystopian, with the dear people at Microsoft, Amazon and SimplySafe Home Security among others painting the nightmarish picture of a corporate ruled grid, a privately owned internet of everything for us to get lost in. Especially the Microsoft AI bit and the Amazon Alexa thing are illustrative of how the financial and corporate elite are enticing us to willingly become part of their control grid.

I didn't watch the Superbowl, so I only saw these commercials when one of my favorite YouTubers, James Corbett from the corbettreport, published a video on them, which I'll link below the article. After seeing this, I'm glad I don't watch TV anymore. Except... I too have a favorite sport, two in fact: Formula 1 and MotoGP. These are two of the most commerce-driven sports as well, just like American Football or soccer. I guess you can say that when something is popular, when it attracts enough people, we can be sure that it'll be polluted by corporate messaging. Behold the advent of the corporate technocracy:


I Watch The Superbowl Commercials (So You Don't Have To!)


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Assassination Of An Idea
Modern Times With SpockPublic Transportation Enemy
Worth Your SaltThe Job Terminator
Becoming PiOut Of Control

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

🙃 ¡ɹoʇɐɹnɔpɐɯǝɥʇ@ 'ǝpnʇᴉʇɐɹƃ ʎɯ ǝʌɐɥ no⅄

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

I really enjoyed your post. Its fascinating from my point of view to read a blog about football from a non football fan. You have very good insight into the minds of sports fans. It was impressive how you acknowledged that car racing is similarly over commercialized. I agree with your views on corporate over saturation of popular sports, but it was notable that it was a relatively low rated super bowl. Live sports are the only sure thing ratings wise for networks now. They are increasingly desperate to galvanize viewers into the consumerist paradigm. I’m a huge football fan, I played football and it’s my favorite sport. It teaches great lessons about teamwork and working together to achieve a positive result. The spirit of competition and sacrifice is so lacking in young people these days, but those positive traits can also be gotten from healthier places. I look forward to reading more of your posts. Keep up the good work.

Thanks so much for this response @newcastle, I really appreciate it 😊 I'm glad you liked it!

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.648 which ranks you at #5577 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #118.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43