Gulper Eeltober [INKTOBER 3 in 1 catchup post]

in #inktober4 years ago (edited)

I am late to the Inktober party but the CCC / @ocd contest collaboration made me put pen to paper tonight! This is the day 3 prompt "bait", AS WELL AS day 2 "mindless" and day 1 "ring". A threefer. From here on out I intend to do these daily per normal. I finished the line drawing on this one before midnight on day 3 so I think this counts :)

image.png

Ah the gulper eel (Eurypharynx pelecanoides). With a jaw that hinges below its body and the capacity to swallow creatures larger than itself. A long whiplike tail that sometimes ties itself in knots. A glowing, tentacled organ on the end of its tail. Sensory spikes that stick out of its sides. Seriously folks, what is there not to like?

PROGRESS

image.png

image.png

image.png


This was done quickly with no reference sketching first. I used the following photos and illustrations of gulper eels for reference, found through Google image search. I do not own these images and link them here only for reference, I have linked the original page I found them on if you click the image:

Sort:  

considers nomming da eurypharynx pelecanoides
image.png

Gulper eel swallows you whole :) consider that

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @scrawly.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks @scrawly it felt good to exercise the ink pen

Those combo's are super smart to cover all three themes in one! Saw it on the gram, was that the latest version?

Thanks Ruben :) What I posted on insta was same stage of ink work but it was a crappy low light cell phone shot, while this one I posted here I scanned in and cleaned up a bit in photoshop. I probably should have taken the time to post the cleaner version on the gram but I was tired after not starting these scribbles till just before midnight.

Oh.. I actually liked that one on the gram! It had that vintage look and feel, which fitted perfect with the ambiance of the creation in my opinion!

ha good to hear my laziness paid off again :) LOL

What laziness? It looked great!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I am terrified by this creature, but also wildly impressed by your talent. Here, take your updoot, and a beer! (P.S. Happy Inktober!)

!BEER

Command accepted!



Hey @carlgnash, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

I think this is the most clever ink I have seen thus far.
There is a youtube video out there of some researchers who met just this fish. It is bloody amazing what nature can come up with.
Not sure about the ring part, but everything else is awesome.

The "ring" part is the overall shape of the gulper eel eating its own tail. My concept was to do an ouroboros (traditionally a snake eating its own tail), with the overall shape being the ring, the bait hopefully being obvious (the tail), and the mindless also hopefully obvious (eating yer own tail not particularly mindful LOL). Thanks for the complement! My kids are obsessed with deep sea creatures and had been talking about gulper eels so that was on my mind. I watched a cool clip last night, might be the one you referenced, of researchers who get really excited when a gulper eel swims up then inflates itself like a balloon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75