#inktober day 10 : Flowing

in #inktober5 years ago

Well, I got my creative energy flowing and managed to do the 'inktober' for today early enough.


I started with pencil and realised I had not idea how to draw my hands as seen by someone viewing them. I could have googled it all, but decided instead to try and use my mobile and set it to selfie as a mirror. I would have taken a photo if I'd known how; so I just looked and tried to remember.

I need much more practice to show the hands 'correctly' as if they're doing the knitting. Incidentally I knit using the occidental method which means that I wind the yarn on my left index finger.

My imaginary sitter is supposed to be knitting a long 'flowing' scarf using garter stitch and a huge cable in the middle.

The idea behind the drawing is 'positive energy flowing' and the label on the yarn just shows I hope to 'steem on' :D



all work by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

Wow. That's great @cryptocariad. I'm glad your creative energy is flowing. 😊

I'm really looking forward to having a go at flowing because I can feel another greetings card coming on. 😁

In the meantime I just did "precious" which was really fun.

have a lovely day.

And it was such a pleasantly warm day, @gillianpearce... My camera is a bit off at the moment, but I spotted a 'loveliness' of ladybirds :D
I will visit your 'precious' now :D

Yes. It was beautiful here too @cryptocariad and more of the same forecast for tomorrow. T-shirt weather again. Woo hoo! 😁

Love the drawing! You can clearly see the garter stitch and the cable pattern on the scarf - and the Steemit-symbol on the skein is brillant!

Drawing hands is difficult per se, but drawing "knitting hands" is even more difficult I think because while knitting the needles more or less point to the viewer. You rarely see a picture with needles being held "naturally". (Let's not talk about all these photos where the model got a pair of needles shoved in their hands with "pretend you're knitting" - most of them are cringe-worthy)

Thank you, @muscara... I know exactly what you mean; I get very upset when a clearly knitted garment is described as 'crocheted' (and vice versa). I shall continue to work on the shape of my drawn hands to make them better.

Great drawing @cryptocariad. I was going to comment that no one will notice the details of the knitting but @muscara proved me wrong lol I guess I should say I can't tell the details of the knitting. haha

Thank you, @steven-patrick... It's also the sort of thing that I do notice, but 'it's the overall effect that counts' :D

Everyone see what they have an eye for, what they know. I'm sure you will see things in drawings or pictures that I wouldn't :)

Nice drawing! Knitting definitely has a flowing feeling about it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70