#inktober day 12 : Whale - Benny the Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

in #inktober6 years ago

When I saw the word prompt for today I immediately thought of "Benny, the Beluga Whale".

For nearly three weeks there's been an unexpected visitor to the Thames in England. It's a Beluga whale and it's lost.

You can read more about it here and hope that somehow the whale can be helped to go back to its homeground.

According to experts netting Benny to set it free was too high risk and not an option.


I'm not at all used to drawing ocean animals, let alone whales; it was a challenge and to help myself I found out a bit about this type of whale.

To be honest the shape did remind me of a dolphin without the fin so this video helped me get the shape a bit better.

Being 'inktober' I thought it was quite relevant to draw a 'white whale' to make a point :D

I also learnt a few facts about this type of whale:

Belugas generally live together in small groups known as pods. They are social animals and very vocal communicators that employ a diversified language of clicks, whistles, and clangs. Belugas can also mimic a variety of other sounds.
Source.


And now for the whole drawing:


You can see the pencil sketch above and also my sketchbook so you can understand the green leaves. I've explained before, but just in case. I use an A5 notebook from Tiger; it's one of our favourite shops because the prices are reasonable. The sketchbook's got that design on every page - sometimes I include it as part of the overall design :D

One of the photos I've seen shows many people with high tech equipment watching this lost whale. I opted for an old looking person and a dog : no tech involved.



all work by cryptocariad

Sort:  

i think your whale is a cute one with its rounded head (and he looks very dedicated). And as with most of your sketches, this one looks like the starting point of an story ...

Thank you, @neumannsalva. I do hope Benny the Beluga's real life story has a happy ending - being a social animal I wonder whether it misses seeing other whales...

That's a very cute drawing of Benny @cryptocariad. I didn't know about the whale in the Thames. I hope it finds it's way out soon. 😢

Thanks, @gillianpearce... and so do I - it's a shame to get so lost !

Aw- loving your Beluga - lovely Inktober offering for today :) The whole scene is so sweet- I can imagine it being incorporated into a children's book.

E x

Thank you, @eveningart. I enjoyed learning about Beluga whales in the process :D

Great drawing I like the old man and the dog. Nice touch. I never figured out why but the Minnesota Zoo had a beluga whale in an inside exhibit for many years when the kids were little. We always liked watching it.

They look quite fascinating really, @steven-patrick. I've never seen one in 'real life' only video :D

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

it is a nice drawing :) free whales, happy and spouting water, belongs in the open seas ... i hope benny is fine.... aaahhh

Hope so, @veryspider ! It's not been in the news for a couple of days...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19