Inktober day 6: "Dripping Ghost"

in #inktober6 years ago

Well today's drawing is a combination of two prompts.

oct6thumbnail.jpg

Here is the entire piece:
oct6ghost.jpg

Now, for the explanation. I decided to use the prompt from Drawlloween, which was Ghost, as well as #inktobers prompt, which I mistakenly remembered as 'Dripping', but after finishing the piece realized it was 'drooling'.

Well, let's just pretend my 'dripping ghost' is also 'drooling' shall we?

There is another element to this, in that when I saw the Drawlloween prompt word as Ghost I thought of my nieces favourite band, "Ghost" which she is always going on about. I had to include the lead singer of the band in this one, as he is quite a character and rather good for a black and white interpretation.

Here is an image of the band Ghost:

My niece is such a fan that she even has one of the 'ghoulie' masks the the other non named band members wear and dressed up as one for last year's Halloween party. So, I had to inlcude it. I have not yet shown it to her, but I am sure she is going to be excited.

I'll share the two prompt lists again.

In the spirit of sharing and #inktober I'm trying to share a different person each day in my post who has also done an #inktober drawing. Today we have the wonderful @veryspider who really draws daily almost year round, so thumbs up for the perseverence and great skill to boot. Check out his post here.

Well, keep inking everyone and join in if you haven't!

And check out my other #inktober posts thus far:

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

DONNA! That dress you made is the one I'm dreaming of, I need to own it, wear it! I'm so so jealous of that woman wearing it hahaha. I'm thinking of buying artworks from talented Steemians when I have a bit more FIAT again - this one might be on my list right now :') Do you sell your pieces somewhere?

You and me both, I want the dress as well :)

I'm going to be putting my inktobers I've done thus far up tomorrow on society6 to start that means you would be able to get it as a print, framed print or on things. I'll post the link. They do ship internationally.

Thanks :)

Hahaha :D You designed our dream dress :')

I think it's super cool to have a print from society6, but I might be looking at original/limited prints from Steemians as well - do you sell those?

I will do. When my site is up. The prints are pretty good quality from there, however, and are fairly inexpensive. With digital I often do a small printing and maybe add some extra ink (or oil if I print an oil on canvas) and sign and number it, as it is more of a unique piece within the series.

This has sort of how I have addressed that layover over lap area of digital meets original artwork.

So, for example I could get a print of say, this piece you like, in a size you find good, and then I'd ink on it maybe an extra animal or some other cool detail, sign and number it and then I'd ship it directly myself. If that is something you'd be interested in, just let me know :)

Oh that's such a smart idea! To personalize the prints :-) I love that. I will certainly get in touch once I have some money to spend :D

They keep getting better and better :)
I like the way the cat's sitting there, undisturbed by the creepyness behind her, hehe.

Thank you, today was the first day I didn't have to go to the dentist or an appointment the same day, so I put more detail in :)

She definitely did enjoy seeing her papa! ;)

Whoohoo another witch Inktober art from you, Donna. I am really feasting here this month.
                       
I love that ms witch and mr skelly are pointing to each other. I think your pose design is really different and unique, and I also like ms dripping ghost. I guess I like everyone here equally :D.

Thanks so much @scrawly, this was a fun one to do. I liked using the symbolism like the pointing index finger as I felt it really had a sort magick action to it.

Somehow it doesnøt really matter that much to keep to the rules when the misremembering leads to such a strange piece of art!

Also nice that you incorporate the weird world of the youngsters in your drawing:) I remember how interesting it was to discuss all the new things happening in my youth with more mature people who didn't need to, but just was curious and interested in what we were doing. Now it is me having that role, and you too it seems.

I'm always intetrested in 'what's the latest' even though I'v mostly lived in the 18 and 19th century even when I ,myself, was young :)

I also learned from a fellow steemian that 'dripping' is youth slang too, so now we'll see if that crops up in my daily language ;)

Funny so many things we share. I guess that while I identify with those same lost centuries it also gives me the freedom to take in what is new. Staying in the eighties and nineties like most of my peers would choke me up.

Even when it WAS the 90's I wasn't there. The grunge movement in fashion was high tilt when I was an undergrad at Uni and my 'rebellion' was I wore corseted floor length Edwardian skirts, high necked tops and lace up authentic Victorian boots! I felt the only way to go the real 'individual' way was back and back I went. Sometimes I threw in some 1920's outfits, cloche hat and all. I got stares, but hey I felt better and more energized than many of my fellow students who Literally would go to class in their sweats and PJ's. I guess clothes just were a way to time travel a bit.

I never dressed in accordance to fashion. When I was young I found it unmanly to concern myself with that sort of thing at all and now i wear jacket and tie. My social skills was influenced by Alexander Dumas and Walter Scott novels which must have seemed strange in combination with my intellectual redneck personality. I always had this role. The first seven years of my life was spent in Denmark, Norway and Sweden, so when my parents finally settled I was used to being different, and never really ditched that role.

I always enjoyed the people who go their own way. Often they are the most fun.

It does seem we 'oddballs' eventually find our own. No matter where I go, it's like we have a 6th sense for one another. The odd find the odd, I suppose.

just to butt in here, I believe the lead singer of Ghost is Swedish. (fun fact?)
and also...what is dripping slang for, dare I ask (I suppose I could google)
edit: I have scrolled to find my answer ;)

That is a fun fact. You think I'd know since Steph has gone on and on about it, but I mostly just glaze over and think of myself in pretty dresses while she yammers away ;) ...Did you get your answer for dripping?

My life is wonderfully full of oddballs. In my wife's family they even collect them - all her uncles are like that. Alumni they call them and the more strange persons you know, and the more crazy stories you can tell the better. Sometimes when one of them comes up with a really odd person they can even suffer from alumni-envy!

wow this is wonderful artwork, love your drawing, love your style and god bless you.

Thanks @ykdesign. I'm having fun with these.

Love this Donna ! Although it is a different word, I think it is very similar, Dripping is like Drooling, too so that still works very wonderfully !!! The arrangement of the three figures are so artistic and the way they react to each other is so interesting. I love the Ghoulie inclusion! He really adds to the trio's gothicness :D

And the stripey dress is so gorgeous ! Love the lines so much * ___ *

And her familiar <3 Almost hidden under her skirt <3 Wonderful <3 <3 <3

This one was really fun to do and I had more time to do it today because for once, I didn't have to go to the dentist today :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome on many levels, I came here thinking you had used the current slang definition of dripping https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Dripping leaving still enjoying the Ghosts the band related art.

Oh em God, that is a hilarous slang, that I never knew. I love it. I wonder if that is what the word was supposed to be. Oh well, my antique witches and ghosts might be dripping but not dripping with swag...init' ;)

I saw pictures online, it turns out Ghosts be dripping with swag too

Ghoooost awesomeee <3 As are all your drawings! :D

Aw, thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78