Inktober Day 4 - Spell

in #inktober6 years ago (edited)


Stream Of Consciousness Art


My interpretation of Day 4 of the Inktober challenge is a little different from most I've seen.

The word is "spell" and most people have created drawings that associate the prompt to magic in some form.

Since I'm unable to draw for toffees I decided to look at it from the perspective of "spelling" and imediately got started on some 'stream of consciousness' writing, i.e. I just wrote whatever came to mind.


spell.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

To make it a bit more interesting I used 5 different colour pens and changed them each time I came to the end of a sentence.

I started writing in one corner and continued on the diagonal until the page was full.

Then I turned the page and wrote over what I'd all ready done but parallel to the horizontal edge this time.

I will probably use this for a background at some point as I like the overall effect of the patterns on the page.

I hope you like it too. 😁


View My Previous Inktober Entries:

Day 3 - Roasted
Day 2 - Tranquil
Day 1 - Poisonous

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

@gillianpearce, that's awesome! I like this method of yours. In fact, I loved it. I have to try it for me. Great idea! You have to develop it somehow. This can turn out to be something very original. I imagined how it would look gorgeous on a large canvas and made a wider font or calligraphy with a wide brush. Attaboy!

Thank you @madlenfox.

Oh dear. You've moved onto fonts and calligraphy too. See my reply to @cryptocariad. 😂

It needs to stay as non legible writing looking like a pattern or else I can't do it. I could try it as a background for a Christmas card though. With some Christmas phrases perhaps . . .

I already have 3 canvases covered in writing but I never got any further with them.

Maybe you could do the font/calligraphy on large canvas thing? 😊

I'm not. But I would just try to do it with a medium-sized flat brush. Bright colors are also different shades and the text can be made completely abstract. do not have any clear and smooth lines. I see it as artistic strokes.😊

Maybe I will that a go one day @madlenfox. I've only every used pens before rather than paints and a brush. Sounds like it could be fun. 😁

Fun Fact:

Did you know that most scholars believe that writing horizontally (from right to left or vice-versa) instead of the original vertical method (up and down) came about because horizontal writing results in less ruin (smearing) of previously written characters on wet clay tablets?

Nice post.

Namaste, JaiChai

That's interesting @jaichai and, no, I didn't know that. It makes sense though and would work with wet ink on paper too.

Thanks for visiting and leaving a fun fact! 😁

You spent quite some time making that! It's amazing how the colors mix and turn into some purpple when you look from a distance.

You spent quite some time making that!

It actually took a lot less time than the other ones I've done. 😊

t's amazing how the colors mix and turn into some purpple

I think that's probably nore to do with the photograph @vanessapineda7. The light is not very good here for inside shots. 😢

Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment.

I like this idea, @gillianpearce ! There's also lots of potential of using different fonts, calligraphy and so on and then using the paper for collage :D

Thanks @cryptocariad.

using different fonts, calligraphy and so on

Sadly my calligraphy skills are as lacking as my drawing skills which is why I tend to use book text a lot. Or type stuff out or even print it.

I've tried a couple of courses over the years but I don't have the patience to practice. I've always admired people who can write in a variety of styles on their art but it's not one of my talents.

Never mind. It just means I have to be creative and find other ways.

How's your calligraphy?

very original! So much calligraphy work!

Thank you @prostosun. I'm not sure I would call it calligraphy. 😁 See my comment to @cryptocariad.

Thanks for stopping by and for leaving a comment.

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 63% by @ArtTurtle!

@ArtTurtle Wants To Upvote Your Art & Music!

The quickest and easiest way to start receiving an upvote for each and every single one of your art and music posts is by delegating 20 SP or more to @ArtTurtle using this delegate button. It's fully automatic and once your delegation has hit the blockchain @ArtTurtle will begin upvoting your art and music content within 45 minutes.




Don't want to give up your SP? You can also get @ArtTurtle's upvotes by signing up for free to Artopium.com! For more detailed information about @ArtTurtle and how it works be sure to check out this recent article by @Artopium titled @ArtTurtle Will Upvote Each & Every One of Your Art/Music Posts

Interesting calligraphy art. It would make a cool pattern for fabric. I'd wear it. :)

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.943 which ranks you at #3750 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 3741).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 237 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10