Inktober Day 8 - Star

in #inktober5 years ago


Starry Christmas Card


Oh my goodness, well that took a lot longer than I was anticipating for Day 8's Inktober challenge - Star.

I was really happy to be able to make something useful again but I wasn't expecting it to take 3 and a half hours! 😱

I took a photograph of the items I intended to use but, since I didn't end up using most of them I won't bother posting it.

I was going to have a string on stars on the card but it didn't work out that way. 😂

Here is the finished product.


star christmas card.jpg


Here's I how I created it . . .

1. Create a background with some vintage music manuscript and stick in on the card.

2. Create a template of a star from an old chocolate box lid and draw 3 of them in a line.

3. Paint the other side of the lid white. I wasn't expecting to do this but without it the writing would have shown through.

4. When paint is dry add strips of Christmas tape to cover the white side of the card.

5. Turn card over and cut out the shapes of the stars.

6. Stick the cards onto some green hand made paper and cut around them to form a border.

7. Stamp 'Happy Christmas' onto some upcycled monopoly money and cut to size.

8. Stick the 'Happy Christmas' printing onto some upcycled red chocolate foil wrapping.

9. Assemble onto card.

10. Wonder whether it was worth all the effort! 😂

Although, to be fair, it looks better in real life than it does in the photograph.


View My Previous Inktober Entries:
Days 5, 6, 7 - Chicken, Drooling, exhausted
Day 4 - Spell
Day 3 - Roasted
Day 2 - Tranquil
Day 1 - Poisonous

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

I like that collage, @gillianpearce.

Today I have been learning about that new font called 'Sans Forgetica' which is supposed to boost brain activity - Have you seen it ? I still need to download it, but I think greetings cards would look quite cool with it :D

source

Glad you like the collage @cryptocariad. It took long enough. 😊

I've not heard of the 'Sans Forgetica' font. It sounds interesting but I'm not sure if I would use it. 😁

I look forward to seeing what you do with it though.

That looks very interesting :D :D I love the creativity

Thanks you @mystic-creature. Glad you like it. 😊

What a wonderful creation, absolutely love it, Gillian! Well done!

Thank you @nolasco. You're loving it means a lot to me. 😍

I love the effect on the stars did you paint that on?

Thank you @ultravioletmag.

did you paint that on?

No. It's Christmas Sellotape type tape stuck on an old chocolate box. 😁

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.980 which ranks you at #3610 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 140 places in the last three days (old rank 3750).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75