Inktober Day 9 - Precious

in #inktober6 years ago (edited)


Precious Stash


Well that was fun! Day 9's Inktober challenge - Precious, turned out to be a lot more fun than I was anticipating.

When thinking of "precious" the first things that come to mind for me are family, friends, moments etc.

None of these are easy to express in abstract form but, as I wandered around the attic and let my mind wander, I realised that many of the things here have become too precious to me and I find them hard to use. 😁

I started collecting 'found objects' a few years ago to use in my art but then discovered, that I had a tendency to hold onto them, waiting for the perfect opportunity to use them.

I went on a bit of a treasure hunt and these are some of the items that have become too precious to me to use. 😂


precious.jpg


1. Many, many vintage books. Here I show one of the shorthand courses I have.

2. Many vintage book covers and/or jackets such as this yellow one.

3. Vintage maps. The older they are the harder the are to use. 😂

4. Vintage buttons, some on their original cards.

5. Vintage sewing patterns.

6. Old 45s, tapes (seems I didn't throw them out after all @lloyddavis 😂) and photographic negatives.

7. Piles of fabrics including vintage handmade lace and pretty bits cut from, for example, silk cushion covers.

8. Boxes of old letters.

9. A bowl of old keys.

10. Heaps of odd pieces of jewellery.

11. Packs and packs of old paying cards

12. Boxes of old board games such as the junior scrabble that the above letter tiles came from.


🎨 🎨 🎨 🎨 🎨 🎨 🎨

This is just a sample of all the precious art making materials I have and doesn't include any of the more modern ones. 😂

How about you? Do you buy stuff and then find it hard to use?


View My Previous Inktober Entries:
Day 8 - Star
Days 5, 6, 7 - Chicken, Drooling, exhausted
Day 4 - Spell
Day 3 - Roasted
Day 2 - Tranquil
Day 1 - Poisonous

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

I love your vintage treasures. I don't keep any of this for that long. Every year I do a General audit and all ruthlessly liquidate, give as a gift or destroy. let the past be the past.

Well. The are not really my past @madlenfox. I bought them specifically to make art from. It's the making art that's lacking. I wouldn't even have these things if I wasn't intending to make art from them.

I'm glad you are good at ruthlessly liquidating. it's a useul skill to have. 😁

I'm a hoarder, at least my kids call me so... I like to keep everything, mostly proof of memories, like old tickets, postcards, letters, packages of all kind, stones, broken jewelry, oh my... I started to try getting rid of them, but it's hard...
I still keep things I don't know I will use them again.
But they are memories for me, and that is priceless.
Great post, my dear Gillian!

I don't have the excuse that these are memories @nolasco, although I have those as well, these are just things I collected/bought from markets and such like. 😁

The plan was always to use them in art but I think I got a little carried away with just how much stuff I needed. 😂

Ah, you will manage to do something beautiful, like the star cards on the musical score! Loved it!

I hope so @nolasco because there is an awful lot of stuff. Maybe I should take some courses or something so I could learn how to make the most of it. 😊

Aw, that's a great idea, Gillian! I bet you'd love them! Because a great taste you already have!

Beautiful and precious things, @gillianpearce. To me what's interesting is that the buttons look so interesting because of the 'vintage packaging' they're still in :D

I just knew you'd love the vintage buttons on their original packaging @cryptocariad. I was thinking of you as I took them from the drawer. 😍

I haven't been able to use them because I don't feel I can do them justice.

This looks like are as it is !

Oh hang on . . . you probably meant . . . This looks like ART as it is. Got it. 😂

. . . and thanks. 😍

Haha yeah that’s what I meant !

I feel you. I hold on a lot of stuff too. I also make stuff that I don’t want to sell, so my studio in New Jersey is getting a little too crowded right now, I might need a bigger space.😊

I'd be happy to pretty much sell all I make. I just don't have the motivation to do what it takes to market it. 😁

Hi @gillianpearce, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @llyodavis doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @lloyddavis ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thanks @checky I will correct it. 😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gillianpearce from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.972 which ranks you at #3633 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 105 places in the last three days (old rank 3738).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @gillianpearce, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thank you for the upvote @creativecrypto. It is very much appreciated! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11