Inktober day 5 - Build

in #inktober4 years ago (edited)

built2.jpg

Eventually, after walking for several months, Rachel saw no reason to continue taking that one more step, so she stopped. She sat there, for few days, listening to the wind and hoped that the voices in her head would tell her what to do. And they did. They told her to build a house. So she did. And now there she was. Sitting in front of her house, hoping that she would have someone to share it with.

To be continued...

Previous parts
1-4


Here's the sketch. I have the worst handwriting, don't I? I have always had a terrible, uneven and ragged handwriting that tilts to the left. I'm not left handed, but left it wants to go. And the words also go downhill really quickly, some letters are small and some BIIIIIG. And if there's one approximately beautiful letter somewhere starting a word, there will be several just awful letters after it. So just like I normally am. Uneven.

build1.jpg

The first picture was made with pen brushes. The third one is my first ever ink work. And after some training, I have to say that I really love the dip pen and working with it! But I chose the pen brush work because I spent more time with it and I think it's better, but from now on, I will use the dip pen (mostly) and promise to do the best I can.

build3.jpg

I had a visit to an art museum today and found a new favourite artist for me. Kalle Carlstedt (1891-1952). He is (was) a Finnish artist, specially known for his woodcuts. The technique is quite different of course than inking, but I was terribly inspired of his work. Have a look here. (Google search.)

I'm sure I don't have enough skills to try to do any other style than wobbly novice, but it doesn't hurt if I have a goal or a vision of some sort. Perhaps I will try a woodcut style some day.

Better buy more ink then.

P.S.
I did the Ring again. With ink. Added spatter. See the wobbly novice style?

ring3.jpg

Sort:  

I really like your style. There's plenty of beauty in imperfection.
Keep it up!

Thanks!

There's plenty of beauty in imperfection.

Rachel Rabbit will perhaps learn that some day too. :)

Walking for several months... I guess that is dedication :) That pen you use makes everything stand out as though it has a drop shadow, it especially looks good on the spiral with the spatters giving it a lot of depth. Nice work.

Perhaps she was just so trapped in her own thoughts, that she didn't notice how long she had walked. But this leaves me wondering the same thing that usually happens in movies and tv-series and books, she never eats or poops. Must be a really tough rabbit.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thank you insaneworks! You've just received an upvote of 37% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi @insaneworks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.660 which ranks you at #5942 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 110 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75