INKTOBER 2017 - A WEEK LATER

in #inktober7 years ago (edited)

Today marks a week since Inktober started!

I decided that this would be the year I tried to do it, mostly because my friends and sister were doing it too so we'd have a support network to keep up morale.

I've also managed to get my mum involved too as I figured that this would be her kind of thing, and she's been reminding me to post every day by showing me her own entries.

So far, I actually managed to do a week. Although, yes, I did mess up and had to post two in one day because I fell asleep before posting (I had a sleeping beauty moment this week sh).

What is Inktober?

Jake Parker started Inktober in 2009 as a challenge for himself to improve his inking skills and to develop positive drawing habits. Now, it's a challenge that thousands of artists all over the world take part in!

To partake all you need to do is:

  • Make a drawing (in ink duh, although you can do a pencil sketch underneath)
  • Post it online
  • Hashtag it with #inktober #inktober2017
  • Rinse and repeat

Here is this year's prompt list:

Thanks for reading my post! Don't forget to upvo- Oh wait, you want to see what I've done this week? Fine okay, brace yourselves...

Day 1, 'Swift', was a bit of a mess I'm afraid! Day 1 definitely didn't work out as well as my head intended. I foolishly decided to colour it in (using ink) and that just make it look too bold.

Day 2, 'Divided', was more simple. I decided that I'd still like to use a little bit of colour but that it shouldn't be the main attraction for the piece. Piece makes it sound way more professional than it actually is! Here you can see an all too accurate representation of how I use my time (and am always trying to fix that).

Day 3, 'Poison', I went a bit dark and deep for this one. I struggle a lot with anxiety and hints of depression and so this is pretty much my daily life. Recently I've been struggling more than I'd like to admit and so this was all I could think about. I've also been watching a bit too much iZombie so I've had brains on the mind far too often too.

Day 4, 'Underwater', turned out a lot better than I expected. I had to use a reference image to draw the suit as I have no idea what an actual spacesuit entails. Then sadly while I was looking for a good one I came across a few versions of this idea! Great minds think alike I guess.

Day 5, 'Long', this was an obvious one to do for me. Sadly I've been blessed with the tremendous height of 5ft nothing. I'm practically a dwarf over here and I will never hear the end of it. I've even had dreams of a miraculous surgery that allows you to grow even just an inch. It's sad.

Day 6, 'Sword', was a bit of a mash up. Originally I intended to do a hero looking at a wall of swords from different games as if they were trying to choose which one to buy. However, as per usual I'd left it to the last minute and decided to go a bit simpler. I ended up with a mash up of 'The Sword in the Stone', 'The Legend of Zelda' and a tiny bit of 'Animal Crossing' because I am not the greatest artist. I also had to use a reference image for Link because of my previously stated reason.

Day 7, 'Shy', was another real one. The all too familiar moment where someone asks you a question and you clam up and have nothing to say, especially in class, gah!

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post (and view my 'pieces').
Are any of you doing Inktober? Please let me know in the comments below!

Don't forget to upvote, comment, follow and resteem if you liked what you see!

Sort:  

This is lovely. No wonder why it's so popular. Well done. I haven't followed the daily words for my Inktober but I'm posting an inked story, one page a day. It's pretty sketchy but I like building up to a finale... DQmWB2UrJ1hcAGAMjAT7aGRtv78E9wQ5vjtHqqeELZGZjw1.jpg

Oh thanks for sharing! That's a really interesting take on it, I'll go check it out now. Thanks for looking at mine ^_^

The first year I did one illustration per day like you. But I thought I would take this opportunity to create a story. Might have been inspired by 24h comic day... Anyway I look forward to see what you draw going forward. You got very cute art and lots of creativity!

Nice drawings/illustrations. :)

Thank you so much! ^_^

Thank you for looking!

Congratulations @mivstar, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2267 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $482.62. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Drawing with ink, this I can do. But it's already too late for me .-.

Nonsense! There's still 2 weeks left, this week I missed a few days and then quickly posted them ^_^ You can do it!

supper bro.....your post is always the best.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07