Cruel Beasts -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

CruelTH.jpg

My 11th drawing for Inktober

For my Eleventh drawing I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Cruel. In this piece strange beasts are roaming the skies, cruelly tormenting those below. The small kneeling figure is holding something in his hand, a small ball of something. Maybe hope?

inksplat.png

I have decided to get out my ink pens and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

2018promptlistSML.jpg
Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

scalpel.jpg

Before I started to draw on the paper I scored into it with a scalpel, this gave a nice suggestion of claw marks - I wonder what beast created them. Water and ink was applied to the paper and left to dry, forming a surface design of white clouds across the ink.
Cruelpaper.jpg

The next stage was using a dip pen and drawing ink to add the lines of the figure and the legs of the beasts.

Cruelpen.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Cruel Beasts'

CruelM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

These strange beasts look like large spiders or at least legs of them :D :D You don't like spiders, right? Or am I wrong? :D In this pic, I also see a white heart, which can also represent hope and love.

You probably did not mean to draw the heart, but here it is and it looks pretty cool :D I love the drawing.

My original inspiration was spider legs - good catch on that one. We have a love hate relationship - they love being in my house, i hate them being there! I don't mind garden spiders though- i find them very beautiful.

Great, thanks. :D I love them being in my house. :D :D I also have a bird spider grammostola rosea and is among the biggest spiders in the world. :D :D I love them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15