Dark Waters -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago (edited)

whaleTH.jpg

My 12th drawing for Inktober

For my twelfth drawing I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Whale. In this piece a whale is swimming through a dark sea. A couple of months ago I visited the Museum of Zoology in Cambridge and saw the 21 metre long skeleton of a Fin Whale.

The museum has owned the whale since 1866, the year after it was washed up dead in Pevensey Bay in Sussex. The Fin Whale is the second largest species of whale, after the Blue Whale. When alive it is thought it would have weighed about 80 tonnes, the equivalent of eight double decker buses.
https://www.museum.zoo.cam.ac.uk/highlights/items/fin-whale

july185.jpg

inksplat.png

I have decided to get out my ink pens and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

2018promptlistSML.jpg
Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

October14.jpg
I haven't drawn a 70ft whale in the drawing I created today, but the head of a whale swimming into view through the dark waters. After putting down some initial lines with my dip pen and drawing ink I applied wax to areas of the whales body, before giving it a wash of ink.
whaleinks.gif

Our seas are filled with plastic, a disaster for wildlife and mankind. To represent the floating plastics I used crumpled cling film over the wet ink to create a series of marks.
October15.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Dark Waters'

whaleM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

Beautiful... he´s dreaming, right?

I imagine so :D

Loving so watercolour textures and looks so peaceful... love whales (I mean the animals)

This whale's weight is fantastic, 80 tons is a very heavy amount, pollution is now everywhere,
many fish and animals become extinct because of littering.

This friendly gigants are unbelivible huge...beautyful animals, great ink work!

'very nice. Thanks for showing the process. It is intriguing to read. Blessings.

Truly lovely, I think many must have been inspired by the prompt, whales are so ethereal to draw and paint.

We have a local whaling museum (whaling having been a major boon in New England in the 17th century and there is a whale skeleton that is still dripping the whale oil out of it and it gets collected in this long tube so you can see it and you can smell it as you enter. It let's you recall what it must have been to live amongst the light and scent of whale oil lamps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10