Precious Nest - Inktober

in #inktober5 years ago

nestboardTH.jpg

My 9th drawing for Inktober

I have decided to get out my ink pens and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.
For my ninth drawing I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Precious. I was thinking along the lines of life being precious, and about new life. I chose for my ninth drawing to draw a bird's nest containing precious eggs.

inksplat.png


Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

October9.jpg

To create my drawing I started by drawing out the shape of the eggs lightly in pencil, I then applied masking fluid to the egg shapes. I applied wax to the paper to create a resistance to the ink and suggest moss on the nest. Once the masking fluid had dried I used a paintbrush to add black ink to create the nest shape.

penandink.gif

The next stage was using a dip pen and drawing ink.

October10.jpg

inkpennest.gif

6inkmarks.png

The picture nestling on my drawing board, drying in the sunshine.

nestboard.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Precious Nest'

nestM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

Good one!...:)...

I really love your creativity.Unbelievable drawing!

Thank you that is very kind.

Aw, these are precious. Eggs, so much joy and excitement in my life from eggs. Even to this day in Spring I get so excited to order my eggs to hatch my chicks!

As a child finding that low built nest full of robin's eggs or secreting away eggs into my pocket in the hopes they'd hatch and learning the sad truth, but then being allowed to make my own incubator from aquairum and tin foil, all very exciting.

So, eggs, are pretty precious to me, good choice for today!

How exciting to hatch your own chicks!

ouuw! :) excellent drawing , again!

congrats dear friend :) <3

Uhh I like this ink illustrations a lot. Next week I will also try traditional inking.

This is beautiful, you drew life, today I saw a nest in a small bush when walking.

Love the feeling of circular movement in the lines and the soft surroundings of the nest. And the strong black against the eggs is superb. Beautiful drawing in ink @opheliafu 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71