Spell -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

fourspellTH.jpg

My 4th drawing for Inktober

This is my 4th drawing for the Inktober challenge, I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Spell. I created this piece using my dip pen, drawing inks and salt.

This month I'm joining in with the drawing fun that is the Inktober challenge. The drawing challenge is to create one ink drawing a day for the entire month of October. You can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

inksplat.png

2018promptlistSML.jpg

Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

I prepared the paper by scoring into the surface with a scalpel to create lots of vertical lines. Next, I prepared the background of the paper with ink and water. Placing the paper in a tub and then allowing the ink and water to soak into the score marks on the paper.

fourink.jpg

Finally, once the paper was dry I drew on the image of the hand lightly in pencil.

fourspellpencil.jpg

The next stage was to use a dip pen and black drawing ink to go over the lines

fourspellpen.jpg

fourspellboard.jpg

inksplat.png

Time for some hocus-pocus!

I brushed water onto the surface of the paper where I wanted the 'magic' to appear in the hand. To this I applied droplets of ink, allowing these to flow up the path of water. I then added a thicker black acrylic ink to the mix, and placed sea salt crystals into the wet ink. I then set the image aside to dry waiting for the crystals to leave marks in the ink.

October3.jpg

fourspellFboard.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Spell'

fourspellM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

Wow, very dramatic :P , looks great o love like the two elements in the composition are comunicating, very expresive, i just begin at inktober today :( https://steemit.com/art/@nkdksk/poisonous-day-1-inktober-2018

The design of the nails I love is like a witch who is absorbing what little remains of the soul of his victim! It's a fantastic Drawing

Her nails are the exact opposite to my short ink covered nails. ;D

Excellent work! A whole process to perfect the drawing. The idea of magic is clearly represented. I like it to come out of the hand, because that's where most beautiful things come from. For example, magical worlds emerge from the artist's hands. From your hands these beautiful paintings are born and that's magic. Good Thursday, @ opheliafu.

Thank you @nancybriti, that is a nice thought about hands being magical. For me the salt crystals added a touch of magic to the surface of the ink in her hand.

Wow wonderful art great post well done thank you for sharing @opheliafu

I love your manipulation of the paper, it gives it so much depth. Another cool #inktober piece, we should find a way to collect up all of our steemit artists #inktober works. That would have been a cool display at steemfest 3!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84