Inktober Day 3: Roasted

in #inktober6 years ago


Have you seen Mandy?

Last week, @kommienezuspadt surprised me by taking me on a movie date to see the action horror film “Mandy,” starring Nicolas Cage. It was one of those slow burn artistic indie films so it was right up my alley. I’ve included a link to the trailer for those of you who aren’t familiar with the title.

There was an extremely powerful scene in the film that I instantly thought of when I thought of today’s inktober prompt ‘roasted.’ I’m not going to give any spoilers to the film but for those of you who have seen it, then you get it. 😉


The progress...

All my drawings are done digitally on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.


I pulled a reference and quickly began sketching with a loose feeling pencil tool.

Instead of using the Ink Bleed pen, which was used in my last two inktober posts, I opted for the bold Studio Pen. When I get to my inking, I’ve begun to skip several step, like a final pencil drawing. I’ve been using my pencil layers as a guide and drawing the details in freely to save time.

After getting the features drawn out to my liking, I began to draw a beard and long hair. This was my first time drawing a large beard, I think I did okay.

I decided to add details to the facial features on a different layer, just Incase I messed up. I should draw intense expression like this more often.

Next, I drew barbed wire which was used to restrain Nicholas’ character in the film.

I quickly outlined his shirt before I ran out of steam and pondered over what I needed to do to complete the image.

I decided to do some shading but only on the face and background. In the film, this scene was shot in the dark with the high points in his face lit.

To complete the image I added wispy details to the hair and colored in the shirt for contrast. TA-DA! He is complete! Hooray to another inktober post!!


Let me know if you’ve seen the movie, “Mandy.”


Thanks for stopping by to view my art! 🦊

Sort:  

Mandy! I saw this a few weeks ago and it was so strange :D I thought it was going to be a bit of a slow atmospheric film and it really took me for a ride! I included this in my weekly curation Ocean of Art: Inktober edition!

Wasn’t it? It was bizarre and yet strangely beautiful! Thanks for including me in your weekly curation! I feel extremely honored. 😊

The lighting was fantastic and really inspiring, it got quite surprising though, I hadn't even seen a trailer so I didn't know what to expect!

Haven’t heard about this movie yet but I like Nicolas Cage movies so I will definitely watch this. Great Illustration🤙

Thanks @bronkong! Yeah, this film was a lot of fun. The fight sequences are outrageously entertaining! You’ll have to tell me your thoughts after you see it! :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Really great! and I better find that film.

Yes! Please do!

I have not see this film (not sure if I will not a huge Cage fan but maybe) but I love your drawing. #inktober is plodding along nicely I think. It's really gonna keep me grounded this busy month.

I’m not a die heart fan myself but there was a buzz going around and I heard great things about the film so I’m glad I went to see it. We went to see it at a super fancy theatre that plays a lot of indie stuff so I had a blast! Oh, I agree with you! I haven’t felt this excited and motivated to draw in ages. :)

I can feel his pain

That’s all I could ever ask for. 🙂

Muahahah! Then I did a good job!

Wow I love it is a great movie, it's my favorite genre!
I like your drawing
It is very representative!

Oh great! I love action thrillers so it’s nice to meet someone else who’s a fan. ^^
Thanks for all your compliments!

Yes, I like many that kind of movies.
They are very sincere because I like what you do! :)

OOOh i finally want to watch this mobie by the way nice draw!

Thanks and you should definitely go see it!

Ooh, I actually forgot about this movie, but I recall seeing the trailer a while ago, and it seems just odd and “Nick Cage-y” enough to be right up my alley. Haha

I’m loving the extreme expression. Capturing that can definitely be a challenge. And good choice on keeping the shading just on the face and background. Very dynamic. I think I need to step up and do more inked details.

I had no idea this film existed until a friend of ours said that Nicolas Cage’s preformance was the best he’d ever seen. That got me super interested because I haven’t seen him in anything besides memes! 😆

There’s definitely a balance that I’m trying to maintain because I fear that the blacks will get muddled if I do too much. I’m sure you inked details will look amazing! Your lines are super strong as is!

I haven't seen Mandy! But I want to :D Looks like just my kind of movie HAHAHA

Gorgeous pic! The emotion and pose are so striking <3 Love it, foxi !!!

It was surprisingly good! The art direction was really cool too!

I’m still trying to get the hang of posing but I will take your compliments because you’re the master of poses! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86