Nothing Like Homegrown Asparagus

Hey everyone! During this time of the year, we usually have a lot of things going on. Planning for gardens, farm animals giving birth, and other various daily tasks on the homestead are common things. While we do enjoy having all of own food coming in, one of our favorites is Asparagus.

IMG_5429.JPG

Asparagus is one of the first things that comes in on our homestead. Personally, I do not know too many people talk about eating asparagus and I am not entirely sure why. It is delicious. This green perennial has become a yearly staple in our diversified garden. Now since we haven’t been able to do much mowing due to the rain, the weeds and grass are starting to grow up in the Asparagus. As it starts to dry out, we will be able to throw a lot of grass clippings in the Asparagus beds to make everything look much better.

We have tried it several ways like over an open fire, eating it raw, and cooking it in a pan with some lemon juice. The latter is one of our favorites and makes for a great addition to one’s breakfast. At times, it is hard to keep up with and we will start canning it to have some to eat over the winter.

IMG_5428.JPG

When doing some research on Google, it states that it is a good source of Vitamins A, C, and K. It also went on to say it helps improve digestion and is a good source of fiber. We planted ours several years ago and it was something we would do again in a heartbeat. It has been a great addition to the food we grow on our homestead.

Thanks for reading and stopping by!

Sort:  

It is truly delicious

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree. So many different ways to eat it!

knowledge thank u

You are welcome. Thank you for stopping by!

Mine are a year old and just putting up single stalks now. I am anxiously awaiting year 3 when I start to get something worth harvesting. I can't wait for homegrown asparagus pee smell!

The anticipation is the worst part, but when it comes in, it really comes in.

The smell was a little off putting at first, but it is worth it. Haha! Thanks for stopping by @flemingfarm!

Going to have to add some to my garden. I love it! Best is when you grill it up with some steak

I would recommend it, if it will grow good in your area. We cannot get enough of it. Haha! Thanks for stopping by!

Can that up- and pickle it while your at it!

I suppose I should get on that train too, i have a spot in mind that would suit asparagus.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hm...I have not thought about trying to pickle it before. Is it any good like that?

I would recommend growing some if you can. I cannot get enough of it. Thanks for commenting and stopping by!

I've had spicy pickled asparagus and liked it. There is a bar here that puts a pickled asparagus in their bloody Mary drinks.

Posted using Partiko Android

In a grillpan with some seasalt is my favourite way of preparing the green asparagus.

Now you are speaking my language @goldrooster! Haha! Add a little lemon and bam.

Thanks for stopping by!

How wonderful to have your own supply. I'd always assumed that it was hard to grow, but is it simply more the case that you have to be patient? Enjoy your harvest! E x

Posted using Partiko Android

It took a little research to find the ones we wanted for our area and making sure they have all they need to do well. Then we had to wait several years for a steady supply, but the wait is worth it.

Thanks for stopping by @eveningart!

We love asparagus here. I tried to grow it decades back, but the asparagus beetles were so voracious, they chewed through the row cover to get it. That was before I started amending the soil to balance it. I probably could grow it fine now, but starting an asparagus bed is very labor intensive.

Asparagus and fiddlehead ferns, our 2 we look forward to in spring. :))

I am sorry to hear you had issues with your Asparagus. Luckily, we haven't had to deal with any pests yet, but I may do some reading about these beetles in case I start to notice something.

It has definitely become a staple around here this time of year :)

This area is reknown for growing asparagus, huge fields of it at one time. So the beetles moved in....mono-culture, a wonderful thing....not!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74