The Pursuit of PerfectionismsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #innerblocks5 years ago
To some extent, both of my parents were perfectionists, each in their own different ways and such habits were entrenched into me during my childhood. It was always emphasized that we do our very best at any job we were given, and we were taught to never give up.

With that in mind, I usually try to do more than post a photo of a pretty flower and say that it is a photo I took. I try to identify the flower accurately and tell my readers a little about it. It bothers me when I can't identify a flower, at least by its common name if not the scientific name, too.

But this teeny little flower, small as it is, has bested me. I have been trying for several years to figure out what this small bloom is, but with no luck! So...

if anyone knows, please tell me in the comments!

Flar1.png

The flowers are white, or perhaps a little off-white. The petals come out of the receptacle in an elongated, trumpet-shape before curling outward on the ends. The leaves are lance-shaped (or "lanceolate" in proper botanica terms) and grow opposite each other from the plant's stem.

I held one of the plant's stalks between my index finger and thumb, partly to steady the the little thing for the photo, and partly for size comparison. These are the the smallest little flowers I think I have ever seen!

Flar2.png

The following photo shows the entire plant on which the flowers are blooming. It is like a miniature shrub! To get an idea of the small size, note the moss to the left, and the round acorn marked in the lower-right of the photo.

Flar3.png

So, yes, if you know what this is, please let me know! I have spent a good bit of time examining images on BING and Google image search, and thumbing through my books of wildflowers, all with no results.

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

curlydivider.png

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
11-Jul-2019

Sort:  

I had a look using an app that I have and this is what I found

Let me know if you think it's a match 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks like a match to me! What is the name of that app please?

Woohoo! It's called picture this.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you!

THANK YOU so much!!! You have, indeed, done a big service in helping to identify this little plant! Thanks to your help, I now know the genus is definitely Houstonia, and can begin narrowing my search down to the most-likely possibilities of:

  • Houstonia canadensis
  • Houstonia longifolia
  • Houstonia purpurea

This is so exciting to finally begin to have a grip on the identification of this delightful little thing! Thank you so much for responding to the post and for your assistance! You totally rock!!! 😃 🙌 💛

You are so welcome! I'm happy to have helped you out 😁 Enjoy the next steps in your adventure 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

So simple and elegant. So tiny. Beautiful pictures @thekittygirl. Great that @foxyspirit was able to answer your question.

I completely understand about being a perfectionist, wanting to give as much information as possible. I have a huge tendency to do that. I have to remind myself that it is ok not to be perfect all of the time. I know I am not, but I always strive to be better.

Hello there!

I understand the part where you have to everything exceptionally but sometimes, being yourself might be the greatest gift you can do for you.

sometimes I was told being a perfectionist but actually I'm not because I hate exploring thing's it's hard to know. lol

sorry no idea kitty. hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday



Hi mrnightmare89 the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Pretty little flower sort of like a Japanese snowbell. I really don’t know. 😊

I have an app you scan the flower and get all the info you need

I hope you manage to satisfy the perfectionist bug on this one! I hated it when something is 99.9%, not 100% but I have managed to tame the beast over time and it's far less stressful (and you will still have high standards of work even at 90 or even 80%) 🙂

Lovely pictures

Posted using Partiko Android

The perfectionist in me needs to know now!!!!

Le sigh...

I would have said while bellflowers, but no. And I think I know which ones you are talking about. They are little white wildflowers is what I call them. That almost satisfies the perfectionist in me. Almost.

Yeah, no.

I hope you find the name and then, you can share it with me! :)

!tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09