Recent Insect Encounters on Fleming Family Farm

in #insects6 years ago

THEY'RE EVERYWHERE!!!


They really are. Insects are everywhere I look and everywhere I go on the farm. This is a good thing since it shows just how ALIVE our farm is. We don't use much of anything aside from sun, soil, and water for the produce so the insects are usually more prevalent. We have some that are seriously annoying but for the most part the insects around the farm don't bother us.

This Boxelder bug landed on the Lilac flowers as I was getting shots yesterday. It is amazing how I can be taking pictures of flowers or bushes and almost always an insect lands in frame. They seem to have a homing sense for the lens. Maybe it is the reflection or the glint of the lens?

NAH! It's got to be my magnetic personality... 🙄


Boxelder.jpg

These 2 were on the grass near some bulb flowers I was shooting. The beetle on the left was only 1/2 inch long or smaller. It was perched right on the tip of the blade of grass. The cool thing is the empty shell attached to the blades of grass. This is the shell of a Giant Stonefly that managed to make it the 25 feet from the creek to this spot in order to molt.

DSC_6249-1.jpg

THIS is a Giant Stonefly. They are like little kamikaze bombers sputtering through the air. It is really disconcerting to be in the garden focused on work when one of these things slams into my body and begins crawling around. The adult don't eat anything and I have never been bit by one, so it is nothing to worry about. It's just that they are up to 3 inches long and feel really odd crawling on the skin.

IMG_20180504_145941337-11.jpg

The wood ants are out in force now. We have forest all around us so these guys have plenty of opportunity to roam and build colonies. I have been trying, rather unsuccessfully, to keep them at bay but they are sneaky buggers. I found this one in the garden not long after I planted the asparagus.

ant.gif

On the topic of ants, I am having a slight problem with tiny sugar ants all around the base of my hives. I don't think they are IN the hives but I will know more today. I may need to do something to try and dissuade them from surfacing right here. Maybe @bushkill or one of the other honey producers may have a remedy for this.

IMG_20180514_172039706.jpg

The butterflies have been out in force now that the weather is nice and warm. It seems they are timed to be with the first flowers of the season. As the area fills with flowers the size and number of butterflies increases until we get the Swallowtails during peak flowering when the Mock Orange blow up.

1.jpg

The Wolf Spiders are EVERYWHERE around the farm and now they are mostly all carrying egg sacks. As I walk through the garden I move the plastic mulch with my feet, this causes a handful of spiders to scurry away. I love having them in the garden. ANYTHING to help keep these bugs at bay!

IMG_20180513_155849281-1.jpg

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-15T14:46:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 44.05/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17