(IJCH) It's YOUR Choice and no one else's! (or How Obligation can obscure YOUR Inner Vision)

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) It's YOUR Choice and no one else's! (or How Obligation can obscure YOUR Inner Vision)

fr2.jpg
Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

A Very Moving Post - Major Props to @jaynie

I just read this excellent, heartfelt post by @jaynie:

Baby Steps...

Source

Article link:

https://steemit.com/steemitbloggers/@jaynie/baby-steps#@jaichai/re-jaynie-baby-steps-20180713t220421128z

It prompted me to submit this comment/reply:

It's YOUR Choice, no one else's! (or How Obligation can obscure YOUR Inner Vision)

Source

@jaynie,

Salutations! JaiChai here.

Your post moved me to share this with you...

I learned two important lessons early in life that have gotten me through some pretty rough patches over the years.

(1) Sometimes, if we allow it, passion activities coupled with obligation can become dreaded chores.

Source

(2) Never forget that, fundamentally, we don't HAVE TO do anything if we don't want to, but have to be fully aware that there are consequences.

For example we don't HAVE TO get out of bed and go to work, but then we must accept that we won't get paid.

Imagine this:

"Before grumbling about work, you might want to think about all the people around the world who would do anything to get a job!" - Jaichai

Source

(Which leads me to this story...)

I once gave a legless beggar on the street a little money for a little conversation.

Source

He was so glad that someone acknowledged his existence that he forgot about the money!

And I was glad to talk with him and learn about his life. In fact, I think I got the better end of the deal because of the insights he had given me.

You see, he wasn't always an indigent street beggar. He had been a successful businessman.

(The rest of the circumstances resulting in his current station in life is much too long to explain in this post.)

Source

(After listening to his story, suffice it to say that I admired him for simply surviving!)

Upon establishing a modicum of rapport, I felt comfortable enough to say, "Sir, it sounds like you were dealt a pretty shitty hand. But why are you, a man who is obviously educated and experienced in global finance, still here - legless on the street, sitting on your XXL skate board with your hand out for coins?"

Source

With a huge smile that revealed the gaps between his brown teeth, he said, "I'm waiting for Halle Berry. She's into legless men, you know. They can't run away!"


("I'm warning you. If I even think you're leaving, I'll shoot your nuts off!")
Source

We both laughed until we could hardly breathe!

A few minutes later, I thanked him for his time, handed him some money, and went on my way.

Glancing back, I saw him smiling his trademark shit-eating grin and waving goodbye - with a lone tear of joy tracing its way down his cheek.

I guess the point I'm trying to make (in my round about way) is this:

Source

The fact that we have a choice to do or not do anything is insanely liberating.

It reminds us what is really important in our lives and re-identifies our passions for what they really are: "A personal choice that only we can make."

Parting Shots

Source

A Favorite Quote

Source

"We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time." - T. S. Eliot

Source

And so it goes...

Namaste, JaiChai

P.S.

If I can get my lazy ass motivated, I'll turn this into a proper post with major props to you and your article.

(End of comment/reply)

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

A wonderful post. I'd actually love to hear the story of the man you met. Also thanks for sharing that quote from T. S. Eliot's "Little Gidding". The entire part V was simply sublime. Penny Dreadful also had some great quotable scenes.


I waded on a supposedly desolate shore (according to that oxymoron called "military intelligence").

The floodlights came on and we (my team) retreated back into the water. Long story short? The atmospheric pressure changes of altitude, depth, sea level, then back to depth and altitude (helo pickup from the ocean) resulted in DCS (decompression sickness) in all but me.

I got an AGE (arterial gas embolism) in the right side of my brain.

It took multiple sessions of hyberbaric treatment and months of rehab to get rid of the paralysis in the neck-down, right side of my body (bubble was in the left side of my brain) .

And the neck up, left side aphasia (face droop) is still noticeable if one looks carefully.

Kinda wish THAT shore was truly desolate!

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

That's just terrible. I guess those idiots at intelligence had no repercussions.

I think two of the spooks got a medal "for saving our lives".

Lol!

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79