SONGSPIRATION: LESSONS FROM THE SONG 14(WE THAN THEE BY JIM REEVES)

in #inspiration6 years ago

"Where words leave off, Music begins". This is a quote by Heinrich Heine which i like a lot. There's also one from Bob Marley which goes like, " One thing good about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain". I've never come across a person that didn't like music. Music has become an integral part of our lives and helps us convey our feelings better.

Source

Anyway, there's more to music than just the rhythm or the beats or the instruments or the vocals, that is the lyrics. The lyrics of a song matter; not just any lyrics though; inspirational and motivational words that make up a song. At least that's what I search for in a song, and that's what I'd like to share with you all. I started this series to share with you some inspiration and life lessons I learn from the songs I listen to. I do so by highlighting the lyrics that contained the lesson and sharing with you all what it taught me.

So for today, I'd be sharing with you a really old song. I don't remember the first time I heard it, but when I happened to hear it on the radio yesterday it felt like I song I had heard before. Had I been reminded of it quite earlier, i would definitely have included it in my wayback songs posts. So the song for today is WE THANK THEE by Jim Reeves.

WE THANK THEE By Jim Reeves


I don't know if many people have heard this song or know Jim Reeves, but he also authored the song I'd Rather Have jesus.

A little extract from the song

We thank Thee each morning for a newborn day
Where we may work the fields of new mown hay
We thank Thee for the sunshine
And the air that we breathe
Oh Lord we thank Thee

We thank Thee for the rivers that run all day
We thank Thee for the little birds that sing away
We thank Thee for the trees
And the deep blue sea
Oh Lord we thank Thee

Oh yes we thank Thee Lord
For every flower that blooms
Birds that sing, fish that swim
And the light of the moon

So as you keep listen to the song, you;d realise that all the words in the song keep highlighting one thing; THANKFULNESS .

Source
Do we ever stop for a second, have a break from the constant desire to earn and obtain, and just be thankful for the things we have around us. There's so much we should be thankful for; the fact that we're still alive, that we have free will, nature, our circumstances, the air we breathe, the water we drink, the fact that so me Apocalyptic Asteroid did not decide, that there's a platform like this one where you get to connect with people alike, share your thoughts and views and get to be rewarded for that. There's so much that man ought to be thankful to God for.

Source

There's this section during church service where people give thanks to God for doing something in their lives. When I was young, I never understood why they had to come before the church to do that. I always thought to myself that, since God knows you heart, when you're grateful to him, he would know. However I came to an understanding as I grew up that, as people give thanks before the church for God helping them through a bad situation, people in similar situations or problems of less trouble would come to realize that there is a solution to their problems as long as they make up their mind to have their problems solved. SO thanksgiving was also a way to tell people that, there's nothing new under the sun and that whatever the situation is, "It was going to be Ok"

Source

Hence, wherever we are and whatever situation we're in, let us not forget to be thankful for them. No matter how bad our situations may be, we should still be thankful, because we never know whose situations is worse than ours.

I'd leave you with this great video i came across.

THANK YOU FOR READING AND HAVE A BLISSFUL DAY

Sort:  

I've never come across a person that didn't like music.

Now that you mentioned that, I believe I haven't, too. We don't agree on what kind of music we hear but they still like music.

Hence, wherever we are and whatever situation we're in, let us not forget to be thankful for them.

Everyone of us has our own burden to bear. Let's not make it an excuse not to be kind to others. Always have an attitude of gratitude.

That's a powerful video! Simply done but the impact is immense.

I know right. I had seen that video sometime back but it came to mind to look for it as I wrote the post. The video's meaning is so deep. Nice to see you around.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Loading...

Hi there :)

On behalf of the #steemitbloggers and in support of our recently launched #steemitbloggers Blog Support Initiative... this post has been upvoted by me and shared with my @steemitbloggers community.

You can view the published version of your post here: https://steemit.com/steemitbloggers/@jaynie/the-steemit-blog-support-initiative-no-8

Happy Steeming and keep up the awesome content :)

Steemit Bloggers
Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13