Some garage renovations - the BEFORE photo

in #interior6 years ago

garage.JPG

I had been living with this for too long, this tiny garage they put on townhouses. And I'm not sure when I noticed that the drywall hadn't received a coat of primer nor a second skim coat or when the drywall around the faucet was crumbling from water damage, but what bugged me from the beginning was parking in here in winter.

In winter, this is the spot for the patio furniture, and to fit the car in, everything is squished to the far end. The parking goes something like this: Pull inside, creep up a bit, creep up a bit more, more, more, more, and when the handle on the lawn mower moves, I stop. Then I get out of the car and slide along the edge of it to the garage door and exit. I can't walk around the car because the recycling bins are too close on the other side.

Two years ago, I started to solve this by having a couple of sheets of drywall added on the left side. But maybe I should ask if your relate to the sort of person who forgets about the problem as soon as you close the door? That's me, but I'm not putting up with it another winter.

You can see the new sheets have been taped and mudded. It's all drying now and waiting for the skim coat. And then, once it's sanded, primed and painted, there will be a simple 6 legged counter height bench going across the back, garden tools to the left and shelves to the right. The shelving unit on the right will probably end up in the basement. That much storage should just be enough or I might need one high shelf across the back.

I'm jokingly calling it my man cave or my man trap, mostly to see the reaction of any man who happens to be standing there checking it out. And I'm leaning towards painting it only a slightly prettier than industrial blue-grey and keeping the ceiling white until I add better lighting. How does that sound? Do you have any comments or suggestions?

Images

Photo from the garage and iPad of @kansuze

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Mirrors on opposite walls with lighting reflecting. You can find the old kind from bathroom renos....do you have a reuse store near you? I like the idea of soft blue with wooden shelving. I do hope you can keep it looking like it's always ready for a photo op for Houzz.

We have a double garage....the bigger the garage the more stuff that needs to go in there right? I can hardly get out of our vehicle either without hitting something.

We had a town house years ago with a great storage thingie at the end of the garage.....it was probably about 3 feet deep and was raised about the same 3 feet. It was a great top/bottom storage.

Can't wait to see the finished reno for your man cave.

Interesting mirror idea and we do have one of the reuse stores. I had been thinking of LED lights over the bench. I'm not sure how much I would use it but I really don't like potting house plants on the kitchen counter... Houzz? Maybe. It's not that it's jam packed full so I should be able to find a place for everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83