Design 01 | Welcome To My World

in #interiordesign6 years ago (edited)

03_c.jpg

One of the projects I handled as an Interior Designer.

As I start this blog, there is a lot in my mind that I want to share. As someone who is working as an Interior Designer, one thing that sticks out is sharing my profession to others. What do people understand about Interior Designers? Is it the same as how they understand what doctors do? Engineers? Architects?

A basic description about interior designers are professionals who design homes, offices, shops and more. But they are different from interior decorators because decorators don't deal with the science aspect of the design. Interior Designers considers all the aspect of the space and its owners from the heights of the furniture pieces to types of materials to the technical details for construction.

We usually start with a concept or a theme. It can come as a brief from the client or can be an inspiration that we got from the project's background. From a concept, it goes deeper to development and implementation of the design.

Sketch (1).png

Starting with concept ideas we go do sketches and development of ideas, selection of furniture (also lights and sanitary wares) and consideration of materials to be used.

(Let's not forget: color scheme! Time to have fun with colors! ❤)

There is a wide range of materials such as fabric, stone, timber, carpet, tiles, leathers, metals, paint and wallpaper. All of these goes hand-in-hand with each other and the selections are based on the requirements by the client.

DSC03862.jpg

Hanged Fabric Books

DSC03872.jpg
Fabric Samples

DSC03875.jpg
Carpet Samples

DSC03890.jpg
Carpet Color Poms

(It's fun selecting the materials. Seeing them complimenting each other. But not fun when the client can't make up his mind on what he wants. ㅠ_ㅠ)

DSC03901.jpg

How we put materials side by side on a project.

An in-depth understanding of materials is needed. I will tackle it in a separate blog post in the future.

Aside from materials, once the design is finished and approved then we will review the necessary drawings showing the correct furniture and light sizes from the appointed vendors if the pieces are to be custom made; if not, then they need to be sourced.

Simultaneously, interior designers need to monitor the project construction site and coordinate with the contractor until completion.

This is standard for interior designers. A tedious process but it's worth it. Although there is a lot of stigma surrounding Interior Design life is glamorous, but truth be told, whether we are freelancers or working in a design firm, it is all blood, sweat, and tears.

Hope I can share more with you! Maybe I will share some projects that I did.


POST BANNER.jpg

Follow me as I whisk my "life brush" through my "Steemit canvass"!

Hit upvote and follow, and I'll be thankful if you support my content!:)
Instagram: @imegankylie
@steemph
#teamsingapore @teamsingapore
#randomasia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86