First blog in half a year. A lot of stuff has happened! Game Design internship, studies and such

in #internship5 years ago (edited)

I've been gone for quite a while. And not because I don't like you awesome folks! But rather because I've been super busy.

joystick-1486908_1280.png

So this summer I applied to be a Game Designer on an internship(ish) project. In short, I applied to a semester where students with different backgrounds from all over the country would get together to make a video game.

Programmers, 3D-artists, Audio Designers, Level Designers, Game Directors and so on where all needed for the project. Six teams where to be created with one Game Designer each, and so chances were slim for me to get the position... I was nervous that I wouldn't...

But I did! And boy was I happy. I had dreamt of this for years! Becoming a game designer was the reason I started studying in the first place. It was all for this one gamble that I would be one of the lucky six! It was a unique chance try out my biggest passion in a very real way.

It was incredibly busy, but also very rewarding. We created two prototypes and a final graduation game. The graduation game where created and released in just six weeks. 17 remarkably talented people got together and we made something I am really proud of - and I'm incredibly proud of the team as well!

Apart from designing the game mechanics - making the gameplay if you will, I was part of the leader group. It was the first time I had to lead so many people, and so it was the biggest challenge, but it went very well. I helped produce the game too, since I had the most experience with managing the technical side of things.

Handling conflicts, managing and delegating tasks while also having to design a game was a massive undertaking. Creating a game with a very short production time with a lot of participants was meant to go slightly wrong every now and then. However, we were constantly praised for how it went. It was meant to go wrong at times, that was the intended challenge - and a challenge I welcome.

Even though it was stressful and it meant many days and weekends of overtime, I would do it again. And hopefully, I will soon, if I'm lucky enough.

Because in half a year I'll be done with my master's. I hear it's not easy getting a job as a game designer right out the gate. But perhaps I can be lucky and find a somewhat related entry position at a game company.

To be honest, I'm optimistic. I might as well be. No need to worry about the future, when I can enjoy the present, right?

()

Anyway thanks for reading. This was just a short update on what's been happening with me this last half year. I hope your 2018 was great- here's to 2019!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72