INTRODUCTORY POST: ULOG: DIARY OF MY JOURNEY SO FAR ON STEEMIT; HOW I GOT HACKED!!!

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

image

I was awake through the long tiring night till around 6:00 am
GMT/UTC +1 in the morning , I was joyfully surfing through brilliant steemitian's blogs, discord channels and doing more research on my own, contributing my ideas to communities like #esteem and #steemjet discord channels, I was beginning to feel at home in my newly found world, a world that was so blissful and everything felt heavenly.

I joined steemit and I was ready to express myself through my writing skills so wanted my post to reach a wider range of audience, I bought some few SBD AND STEEM, I started using bots after my second post because I was disappointed that my first two posts didn't reach a large audience, but little did I know I was getting more closer to getting #phished.

I have made quite a number of good friends, I was obsessed with reading @cryptopie post and would always comment on it, I had my #ginabot set so I can easily get access to my favorite blogs, thought I haven't spent more than a week on steemit, I felt like I have been doing it like forever.

The result of the bots were fruitful and my posts was reaching more audience and I felt in no time, I would make more friends and build a community where we can share creative ideas and contribute our own quota to steemit and to the world at large.

I know quite well about hacking, because of my drive to always learn more, phishing pages isn't strange to me but I wasn't aware that spammers were on rogue and lurking in every corner of steemit waiting for an innocent steemian to fall into their webs.

The perpetrator has sent this link about 3 days earlier to me before I got hacked and since I was trying bots out, I just did the usual and my naivety stopped me from scrutinizing the link, probably I told myself my beloved steemit was too perfect because of anxiousness to be a part of this great community . I let my guards down unreserved and followed the link which led me to a phishing page which is a replica of the supposed #steemconnect website , I gushed out my information unreluctantly and got a notification to wait for my post to be upvoted.

I still wasn't aware of the danger I have gotten myself into until I woke up to unending notifications from #ginabot which kept buzzing my phone, I knew it couldn't be as a result of the resteem bots I used, I knew something was wrong some where, so I decided to check the notificatons and to my dismay, I saw my compromised account spamming innocent steemains in their comment sections, I was shocked, confused and didn't know what to do, so I went straight off to my steemit account but I couldn't log in. Tried severally but it was abortive.....

Alas, I have been Hacked!!!

I tried the password reset with little faith, and yes he already changed my login information, so I did an account recovery and later sent a message via email to [email protected], I got a response faster than I thought, my spirit was elevated until I read it content which on anyway didn't state if my account was ever going to be recovered.

I got more worried and went into channels on discord to solicit for help, I was lucky to get more helpful suggestion, some newly met friend on discord had a mixed feeling about my complain, they were sceptical about my integrity, they wanted to know if I was the spammer so I asked them to check #steemd for to be able to visualize how it all happened, I was able to convince them and they offered suggestions which I truly appreciate.

I tried all suggestions but I am still left to wait for a response from steemit, I wouldn't know if I would get it back, the reputation I painstakingly built to roughly 41 all went down the drain, thanks to #steemcleaners, they told me I could restore my reputation back after I gain access back to my account.

I have learnt this the hard way and I hope no other person falls victim of this scam sweeping across steemit, please let us create more awareness in other to make steemit more secure for all steemians...

My special thanks goes to :

@pelvis
@horpey
@jlordc
@afolwalex
@einstie1
@mzajoke
@essence26
@honormaus
@eunireal1
@ewuoso

For their support and love, they motivated me in every little way, it really means a lot to me. Thanks and God bless you all.

To the creator of @steemjet, @dimimp, Sir you are truly a force that motivates all men irrespective of their kind and nature....

My hacked account is @goldbaba1

Sort:  

@creative-ideas, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Hello creative-ideas! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Greetings new members
Happy to see you join Steemit, if any questions about this platform, please click www.steemithelp.net
Kind regards

Thanks you for you help

Congratulations @creative-ideas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steem, @creative-ideas!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2831 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : 2.16 : Resteem indicators.

Greetings, creative-ideas! Wish you a very prosper journey here in this loving and caring community :) Life is good!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Sorry about your hacked account. I think this is a note of warning to everyone to be mindful of the sites they are inputting their log in details. You may be making it easy for spammers by so doing.

Yes, you are right and that is why I wrote this post to help others, I got my account back all thanks to steemit support, great guys, they took care of it in no time, I am trying to fix my account now. Thanks for stopping by

Wow! Glad you were able to recover your account. Thought that was mission impossible. Congratulations and please be more careful next time.

So did I,guess I was just lucky, the response was fast and less than 12 hours, thanks and I will be more careful

You Got Upvote From @nitro.speeder

From Helping Us Upvote This Comment

For Daily Upvote Join Our Discord Channel
Invite Link:-https://discord.gg/DkmF7wn

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by goldbaba from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94