Who The Heck Is Marty Bostick


So I guess one of the hardest things to do is write about who you are and what you actually do.

I mean, it sounds easy, but it actually isn't when you get down to it.

Here goes...

My name is Marty Bostick (Martin when I was in trouble as a kid).

 


I've been a full-time career IT professional in the database management discipline since 1989, but I've been a hardcore entrepreneur and Internet Marketer since the mid 90's.

I'm currently a beta tester for LocustWare and spend a large amount of my time contributing there where I can to improve the quality of automation tools.

I'm married with three grown kids and three grandkids.

I've probably done just about every facet of IT work that you could possibly think of and my nickname is to most of my friends is "Nerd Herder" :)

I am also an info-product creator with a few successful product launches under my belt now and always working on the next one.

So let's talk about Hobbies and Interests...

My favorite hobby as a musician is playing Irish Fiddle. I have been playing since the late 90's and take my fiddle with me most places if I am travelling. You never know when there will be an open session to sit in and play. With traditional Irish tunes, they are commonly played in most session circles, so I always have a way to break the ice at local pubs when I sit in and play. I'm up to about 600 tunes in my repertoire by ear now, so there's bound to be some tunes to be played.

I sit in a local session and play with friends about once a month now. That's about all I have time for with my schedule. I'm the guy in the lower-right of the photo below.


 

In addition to playing fiddle, I am also a Bonsai enthusiast.

No...not like the "Karate Kid" crap...real trees with real dollars invested in them.

Some of them I have been caring for over several years. There are quite a few rules and techniques around caring for them seasonally, but it is a great stress reliever and outlet for me.

In my line of work, I need all the help I can get.

All in all, I live a full life and I am always in pursuit of the American dream. I love spending time with my family and friends and being the extrovert I am, I've never met a stranger!


Posted from my blog here: http://marketingwithmarty.com/who-the-heck-is-marty-bostick/

Sort:  

You seem to be in the right place! There are so many IT guys/developers, musicians and I even saw a couple of people taking care of bonsai trees :)

Welcome on Steemit! You look like a guy who has a lot of experience and funny stories to tell so I'm looking forward to seeing you around.

Whenever I see a new person coming here I advise them not to focus on financial rewards but to build their network first. It is important to post as often as possible and engage with other people.. the great way of doing that is joining some communities and taking part in contests. Joining discord groups is always a good idea too :)

I wish you a lot of fun and success here :)

Awesome introduction post! Had to laugh awhen you said you cakked yourself "Martin when I was in trouble as a kid", as our dev is also named Martin.

Comment written from your blog on marketingwithmarty.com using steempress :)

That's me :p

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thanks so much

Nice post Marty, welcome to Steemit.

Always good to see IT people joining our great community.

I also think it’s cool that you play the fiddle it reminded me of an old family treasure.
My father inherited an old fiddle but sadly none of our family members could play.

Enjoy your day and good luck with whatever you do!

Greetings

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @patrizius92 I hope you have a great day too my friend

What a great introduction. Welcome to this awesome community. I hope you can find a group of people with similar interests to yours, to make the journey more pleasant!

Congratulations on being featured by @zorank in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'd like to invite you to participate on my Art Curation Initiative #9

Man I'm loving this community already. What a warm welcome from everyone. I can't wait to reciprocate for others. Thanks @trincowski

Welcome to the steem block chain. I hope you will like this platform. Looks like you have lot's of experience about professional life and life . Really, nice to meet with you and you will find so many good people here...Good to see you here.. See you around...

Thank you for welcoming me onboard the Steem blockchain @priyanarc

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Marty, welcome to STEEM. It is more than just Steemit.

STEEM have many interesting DApp like Phone client, Games and many Tools like:

There are more STEEM DApp if you checkout dapp.com

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a bunch. I'm really enjoying seeing distributed apps take off. This is awesome


Welcome to Steemit @martybostick!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Awesome, thank you

welcome to steemit and have fun and great learning things

Thanks for the welcome @sanjoea

Congratulations @martybostick! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23