Hello Steemit .... Its a New Day. Let Me Introduce Myself

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Community... I guess this is the point where I introduce myself. New beginnings are always challenging and when I took on the enviable task of joining Steemit a few weeks back, I was equally elated that a new World awaits …. A giant (most probably footprint now) step had to be taken into the crypto space. After reading article after article on Steemit, It saddens me to point out that I delayed entry into this opportunity but what would life be if no second chances were accorded? I am grateful to a colleague, @jaraumoses who introduced me to this community exactly 1 year ago and did not give up convincing me to join until finally… well I am here to begin with.

My name is Timothy Musimbi, a passionate programmer trying to build a career in software development and what better way to dive into the crypto and block chain world than to join a community of like-minded enthusiasts. The love for technology and its ever changing space has led me here and I strongly believe this platform lowers the barrier of entry into this arena.

IMG_7369.JPG

I work with DATACLAN, a technology start-up as a User experience developer to develop AI powered block chain solutions that ease Supply Chain Management. In my few months on the team and the Hack for Refugees project , we managed to build a system that would support the disbursement of needs, supplies, cash and items to Refugees. (PS. Uganda is one of the countries that hosts one of the largest refugee communities in the World). This project was fully supported by UNCDF, a UN Partner agency, Dan Church Aid, Mercy Corps and Innovation Village, one of the biggest technology hubs in Uganda. Even after this revealing experience, I am still learning and on the lookout for resources that would help me to better understand this new technology.

dataClanSteemit.PNG
(I am on the extreme right) Image Source: My Computer

What kind of programmer would I be if I neglected to evangelise about Open Source and my almost continuous attachment to it? I love Open Source and the thrill you get when your contribution to a community driven project is acknowledged; the reliance on FOSS (Free Open Source Software) cannot be emphasized enough. My love for community and programming has also opened me up to other platforms like Free Code Camp which provides and improves free resources for aspiring software developers. I took on the mantle of running the Kampala, Uganda Chapter of FreeCodeCamp which has grown to over 200+ developers. This is purely voluntary and if you asked why at this point, then I know you skipped the few lines where I was professed my love for free software and what Open Source has done for the community. It is through this community that I also teach children aged 6 to 11 years problem solving and programming fundamentals. If I don’t stop myself at this point, I will most probably continue speaking uncontrollably about programming which would require me to ask for more than the 64000 character cap that the Steemit community currently enjoys.

FreeCodeCamp.PNG

kidsCode.PNG
(Some of the kids I have tutored in programming fundamentals) Image Source: Still My Computer

My tastes are simple, I am easily satisfied with the best - Winston Churchill

The choice to wander into unknown waters was taken with inquisitiveness, numerous questions and pure adventure. Do I know what I am doing? Probably not. Do I think I am making the right decision? Time will tell. Am I in this for the long term? Definitely! Regardless of what happens, I am here to stay and I equally hope the support of the community keeps me going.

Hasta La Vista Steemit!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @tim-crypto
I think you may want to add a tag introduceyourself it's more active.

Thanks a lot @tesaganewton. Still learning. This is good and I am grateful

@tim-crypto, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Right away. Thought I had done so yesterday. Thanks

Hi Tim-crypto,

Welcome on Steemit. We need people like you.
You can also join team-uganda.
If you have questions about Steemit or team-uganda, we love to help you.
Meet us at discord http://discord.me/teamuganda

And greetings to Jaraumoses, one of the founders of teamuganda.

Regards, Achim

Hello @achimmertens. I will be joining a few seconds from now. I have already heard, been told and also read about you. Thanks for what you are doing for team-uganda

Finally the account has been approved,welcome to Steemit and hope you enjoy your experience here.

You are the guy who needs the praise. Thanks for persevering. I will be grateful for a lifetime

Congratulations @tim-crypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You are very much welcome @tim-crypto. I wish you a wonderful experience on the steemit platform. Hope to interact more with you on our whats app Uganda group and Discord. Incase of any questions we are available to attend to you.

Thanks @yohan2on. I have already joined the discord group and the questions will be coming

Welcome to steemit @tim-crypto.
I commend you for the work you are doing in training those kids in software. You may not know it but you are shaping their future as tech and all things crypto are the future of this world and Uganda wont be left out. Thank You.

Steem On!

Thanks @sembozezade. You guys are really an inspiration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25