My way here / Mi camino hasta aquí

adnhatgdl.jpg

So, it’s time to talk a little bit about myself.Bueno, ahora toca hablar un poco sobre mí.
If a border patrol officer asks me about what do I do for living, it would be difficult for me to shout just one word; I might stutter a little bit, and I would probably find myself in trouble with the immigration authority because it would seem that I am trying to come up with a lie. Thankfully you are not an American police officer (or maybe you are?), and I am not trying to go to Arizona for some shopping; so, let me start telling you my Bachelor Degree. I studied Communication Sciences and graduated from a University that no longer exists, called Universidad del Noroeste; it was a regional College that some years ago was absorbed by a national College, the Universidad del Valle de México. My degree was one of the very last diplomas extended by the UNO.Si un oficial de aduana me pregunta cuál es mi empleo, sería un poco difícil para mí contestarle con una sola palabra; probablemente tartamudearé un poco, y tal vez me meteré en problemas con las autoridades de inmigración porque parecerá que estoy tratando de inventar una mentira. Afortunadamente ustedes no son oficiales de policía estadounidenses (¿o sí?) y en este momento no intento pasar a Arizona para hacer algunas compras; así que por lo pronto, permítanme compartirles mi título universitario. Estudié Ciencias de la Comunicación en una institución que ya no existe, llamada Universidad del Noroeste; era una escuela regional que hace algunos años fue absorbida por una escuela nacional, la Universidad del Valle de México. Mi título fue uno de los últimos expedidos por la UNO.
So, about my career experience? First of all, you have to understand that in Mexico, as well as in other “developing economies”, sometimes you need to manage with two (or even three) jobs at the same time, in order to meet your basic monthly expenses. Having established that, I worked as a TV producer for nine years, while trying to rise my own advertisement agency (alongside my wife and another partner) from the ground; at one point I was teaching classes at a local High School, working as a College promoter, and for the last couple of years, being a mobile app entrepreneur (a project I will describe in detail in a further occasion).¿Y sobre mi experiencia laboral? Primero que nada, debes entender que en México, así como en otras "economías emergentes", a veces debes maniobrar con dos (o tres) trabajos al mismo tiempo, con el objetivo de cubrir tus necesidades básicas del mes. Dicho lo anterior, trabajé como productor de televisión por nueve años, al tiempo que trataba de levantar mi propia agencia de publicidad (junto a mi esposa y otro socio) desde abajo; en un momento dado estuve dando clases en preparatoria, trabajando como promotor universitario, y desde hace un par de años, como emprendedor con una aplicación móvil (un proyecto que describiré a detalle en otra ocasión).

14730548_1603090723331264_7118876437347565568_n.jpg

Interviewed at my office.Entrevistado en mi oficina.
Of the several jobs enlisted above (among other projects so short-lived or undeveloped that right now they don’t come to my mind), being a TV producer at Televisa was the one that brought me more fun and satisfaction… for some time. Sure, it actually was the reason why I decided to go with Communications Sciences: discovering the magic behind the screen, and being part of it. And that I was. First, I was given the local sports news broadcast; and being the sports fan that I am (something you will certainly notice on my upcoming posts), I really had a blast with it. After just a year, changes were made at the channel, and I was assigned a bigger challenge: the daily late show (called “Ruleteando”). Again, it hit me on my Achilles heel, because I have always loved culture and music (I actually played guitar a lot and wrote songs with my friends… I still do, but not as often as back in the day), and that show gave me the chance to fool around with music specials, live performances, cultural segments, comedic bits… I enjoyed it a lot. But, as flashy as it sounds, being a TV producer in a midsize city (as established in my previous post) is not actually as wealthy as you may think: you have to do the same amount of job that two or three individuals do in a bigger city TV station, and you get paid the same amount of income that a cameraman that didn´t end middle school education gets. I don’t mean to undervalue the importance of the cameraman work, but… a Bachelor Degree should make a difference, right?De los varios trabajos mencionados arriba (entre otros proyectos tan cortos e incompletos que ahora mismo no puedo recordar), ser productor en Televisa fue el que más me brindó diversión y satisfacción... al menos por un tiempo. Por supuesto, esa fue la razón por la que decidí estudiar Ciencias de la Comunicación: descubrir la magia detrás de la pantalla, y ser parte de ella. Y claro que lo fui. Primero, me otorgaron el noticiero deportivo local; y siendo tan aficionado del deporte (algo que seguramente se notará en mis próximos posts), realmente me divertí mucho haciéndolo. Tan solo un año después, hubo algunos cambios en el canal y me asignaron un reto mayor: el show de revista nocturno (llamado "Ruleteando"). De nuevo me dieron en el talón de Aquiles, ya que siempre he amado la cultura y la música (incluso tocaba mucho la guitarra y escribía canciones con mis amigos... todavía lo hago, pero no tan seguido como antes), y ese programa me dio la oportunidad de experimentar con especiales musicales, presentaciones artísticas en vivo, segmentos culturales, cápsulas de comedia... lo disfruté mucho. Pero, aunque suena glamoroso, ser un productor de televisión en una ciudad mediana (como la describí en mi anterior post) realmente no es tan redituable como podrías pensar: debes hacer la misma cantidad de trabajo que dos o tres personas realizan en una estación de televisión en una ciudad grande, y te pagan la misma cantidad de dinero que recibe un camarógrafo que no terminó su educación secundaria. No es mi intención devaluar la importancia del trabajo del camarógrafo, pero... un título universitario debería hacer alguna diferencia, ¿no?
And what about the hobbies? Well, while you are so busy juggling with so many responsibilities and trying to survive, they remain in the corner of the room, waiting for you to remember them. And I did remember them… so I quit my TV job and wrote a fiction novel, watched more movies and Netflix, played more videogames, tried to travel, and so on. But again, that was not very profitable, was it? So, I began to think of a way to do what I want to do, and make a living from it. You know, to make the dream come true.¿Y dónde quedan los pasatiempos? Bueno, mientras estás tan ocupado con tantas responsabilidades y tratando de sobrevivir, ahí están arrinconados en la esquina, esperando a que te acuerdes de ellos. Y yo me acordé de ellos... así que renuncié a mi trabajo en la televisión y escribí una novela de ficción, me puse a ver más películas y Netflix, jugué más videojuegos, traté de viajar, y así por el estilo. Pero bueno, no se gana mucho dinero haciendo todo eso, ¿verdad? Así que comencé a pensar alguna manera de poder hacer lo que yo quiero hacer, y poder vivir de ello. Hacer que el sueño se convierta en realidad.

1488655_10151793312881831_1477491305_n.jpg

Family trip to Florida, some years ago.Viaje familiar a Florida, hace algunos años.
And here I am, in a quest to build my personal brand. Right now, I am starting to stream videogames on Twitch while talking about movies and sports, feeding up a YouTube Channel (pretty empty these days), using Twitter as an informative glue, and of course, beginning my adventure on SteemIt. By the way, I just turned 35 a couple of days ago, and I can assure you: I feel like a hopeful teenager.Y aquí estoy, intentando construir mi marca personal. En estos días estoy comenzando a transmitir videojuegos en Twitch mientras hablo de películas y deportes, alimentando mi canal de YouTube (algo vacío hasta ahora), usando Twitter como un pegamento informativo, y claro, comenzando mi aventura en SteemIt. Por cierto, acabo de cumplir 35 años hace un par de días, y te lo puedo asegurar: me siento como un adolescente esperanzado.
So, how about it, officer? Am I good to go and spend my well-earned money on a Phoenix mall to get some so-much-needed stuff? If you want to follow me and have the patience to wait a little bit while I get to create some interesting content, then here’s how:Entonces, ¿qué dice, oficial? ¿Puedo ir a gastar mi bien ganado dinero en un mall de Phoenix para comprar algunas cosas que necesito? Si quieres seguirme y tienes la paciencia para esperar un poco mientras genero contenido interesante, estos son los medios:

SteemIt: a-d-ryan

Twitch: a_d_ryan_

YouTube: A_D_Ryan

Twitter: A_D_Ryan_

If you want to read my fiction novel (available only in Spanish), just search “Licaón” on Amazon, or click on this link:Si quieres leer mi novela de ficción (sólo en español), busca “Licaón” en Amazon, o da click en la siguiente liga:

https://www.amazon.com/Lica%C3%B3n-odian-odiados-eliminados-Spanish-ebook/dp/B0777LDX2T/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1531299707&sr=8-1&keywords=licaon

Sort:  

Welcome man! Have you ever heard of @dlive? Maybe it is worth checking it out and using instead of Twitch :)
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks @theaustrianguy! I have heard just the name, but not what is it about... I'll definitively check it out!

Welcome to steemit @a-d-ryan. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome to Steem, @a-d-ryan!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3133 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

Welcome to Steemit Ryan.

Gracias por compartir tu publicación.

¡A ti por el comentario, @tex73110!

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

If you are also into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23