Greetings Fellow Steemians! (intro post)

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181019_080536.jpg

I cannot express my excitement to join this wonderful community! I've been posting here for a couple of weeks now, and it occurred to me that I failed to write the obligatory #introduceyourself post. (appologies, I was a bit overwhelmed up-front)

About Me

I was born and raised in New Orleans, LA. I studied Accounting . While I was in college I worked as a store manager for a national specialty retail company headquartered in the same town—this is odd because there's not many companies based out of here that aren't in either oil and gas or the hospitality/tourism sectors—which brings me to the year 2000. I was 24, fresh out of school, and my company asked me to take a district manager position in Houston, TX. I gladly accepted because honestly at the time there wasn't much opportunity outside of the aforementioned industries. I was 24 when we moved away from home for the first time.

Living in Houston was great. I was overseeing all facets of operations of 23 retail stores with over 120 employees. The district had been poorly run for several years, so I had my work cut out for me. Needless to say, I learned a lot about leadership, running a business, and myself in the process. I handled it well. A little over a year later I was promoted again to the regional manager of east Texas which required my wife and I to move yet again to Dallas. I now had more stores, and a few district managers in my portfolio and everything was going wonderfully. I was making a name for myself in the company, earning far more money than I ever imagined I would, and built my region into the flagship operation for the company. And then it happened. I met a couple of guys who had an idea for a humanitarian project in Africa that was unllike I'd ever heard It flattened me. From that point forward, all the recognition, all the money, everything that I once cared about no longer seemed to matter. I walked around is a kind of daze for months after our first meeting. All I could think about was the idea these guys had.

Shifting Gears

About four months after our first meeting one of the two guys with the Africa idea gave me a call from the UK. He let me know that while the vision and scope of the project was clear, neither of then had the time or operational experience to handle the boots-on-the-ground work that would be required to get the project up and running. He asked me if it was something I'd be interested in taking on. When we got off the phone I went home immediately to discuss the opportunity with my wife, and she suprisingly said she was in as well! Her perspective was that we had no debt, owned our cars, didnt have kids, and if we were going to do something dumb, we might as well do it before we turned 30. . .

I called my boss later that day and let him know what we'd decided to do. He was suprised and sad, but supportive. To this day I respect that man so much. We agreed to my staying on for another month to help with transitioning my replacement into the job, and I began to work my way out of the day to day.

FB_IMG_1541291544932.jpg

The Africa project took about three years to get up and running. We selected Cameroon for the project after visiting several African nation's. I had a hand in establishing the foreign NGO with the government, negotiating the lease of a 10,000 square foot building that would be our local headquarters, recruiting a team of volunteers from the States, hiring a team of locals to staff several jobs that we brought to the area, and got all of the vocational training programs off the ground.

The people of Cameroon were unbelievably warm and welcoming. I was in love with what I was doing.

After the project was up and running I was asked to undertake a reorganization project for our mother non-profit in the states. At the end of the reorganization I was asked to assume the role of Executive Director. I was reluctant to take the job because of my attachment to the project in Cameroon, but wound up relenting. So we moved to Pennsylvania.

Non-profit Boards Can be Difficult

I'm not going to spend much time talking about my time as executive director. It was a big job, and I did my best. The organizations board was constantly in the way of progress—the same board who would readily admit that "drastic change" was needed. Despite their meddling we were successful at making many changes that have gone on to serve the organization well. It's a far better place now than when I left it. The most remarkable change wound up being a four year project that transitioned a failing print publication into an online publication. This website that was created was just named Inc. Magazine's #122 of 500 fastest growing companies!

Back to New Orleans

FB_IMG_1541291478154.jpg

As Dorthy put it, "there's no place like home." So once I decided that I was over arguing with the board, we decided it would be nice for our son to grow up around his grandparents. About a year later his younger brother was born.

FB_IMG_1541291485460.jpg

To pay the bills, I opened a home security and automation company because I fell in love with it while building my home, and I wanted to move around a bit more in my work, and that company took off quicker than I had ever imagined. It was sold to a larger firm a few months ago. I'm now in the process of looking for what's next, and as things turn out, I'm now working on a blockchain venture with the same two guys who had the idea for the Africa project!

I originally got into Steemit because I was doing market research for this vew venture, but I have to admit that I've caught the bug badly!

I'm not quite certain that I've found my voice yet, and I'd love to hear from you as to what types of content toud like to read, so please let me know in the comments section. I've written a few different blogs in the past chronicalling my work. I'll probably share some of that with the community, and I'll begin to share information on the new project once the lid's off. I may also write a little about consumer electronics and automation as I've developed an extensive knowledge of that industry as well.

Hope to see you around soon, thank you in advance for welcoming me to this community!

@abhaya504

Also posted to Whaleshares.io

Sort:  

Really enjoyed reading your intro @abhaya05 and getting to know a bit more about you. You've definitely got a very intriguing experience base in life!

"I'm not quite certain that I've found my voice yet, and I'd love to hear from you as to what types of content toud like to read, so please let me know in the comments section."

My input would be to just write from the heart. Whatever you're passionate about it!

Some "experts" in here would say pick one topic and stick with it. With the caveat of being fairly new myself, I am not following the advice ... I just write about whatever I feel inspired to write ...

All the best to you @abhaya05, for a bright Steem future, as we work together for a better tomorrow! 😊👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Appreciate you my friend! See you around the blockchain soon 🤙

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit fellow New Orleanian!! Born and raised here myself and never left. I truly enjoyed reading your introduction and am intrigued to see the rest.

I was overwhelmed at first too... hell, I still get overwhelmed and have been here almost a year! Lol

I think it's awesome that you guys threw caution to the wind and decided to go on such an adventure ... I don't think I would have been as brave. Fear of the unknown is probably one of the greatest for me.

I know what you mean about the bug and I will tell you that when you start meeting all the awesome people here you will love it just like I do. And as far as your content, I think showing us more of your journey would be perfect.

See you around @@@abhaya504!!

504 Friends! Yay!

Thanks for your encouragement and advice on what you'd like to see more of! I'll definitely be sharing more experiences from my travels to several African nations, India, and China soon!

See you around the blockchain, and perhaps this lovely town some day! 🤙

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to meet you @abhaya504! I was introduced to you @juliamulcahy who felt compelled to introduce us due to cosmic alignment. And I think she was right! :)

Nice to make your acquaintance! Looking forward to getting to know you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Just wow! What a brave couple you are. You took a huge chance with the job moving to Texas and then to give it up and take a non-profit job! That is HUGE!!!! Non-profit work is hard stuff. I have done quiet a few of them, but never to the extent you did. So excited you are finding a good place back home. We moved back to our youth home as well and are enjoying our families.

We also wanted to let you know, we have given you a 100% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.
Scott & Ren

Hi @abhaya504, lovely to meet you. I’ve enjoyed reading about your life thus far. It sounds like you and your wife have had some amazing adventures. As you’ve asked what I like to read, then I’d say more of the same. It’s great to be able to see into another’s world and yours is certainly more interesting than most.

As someone from the UK, who now lives in Ireland, New Orleans, Dallas and Cameroon are places I’ve only ever read about. Your writing could provide me with new perspectives on each of them, where I see them through the eyes of someone who has called them all home.

Look forward to reading more from you. 😀

Pleased to connect with you as well @juliamulcahy!
Thanks for taking the time to let me know what you'd like to hear more of. I have plenty of photos from our travels around Africa, India, and China that I'm sure will serve as great writing prompts.

And please don't sell yourself short. We all add value to the world in our own unique ways. The wife and I have just been blessed to have a bit bigger footprint than most.

One thing I can say for certain is that people are people everywhere, and places are places no matter where. We all seem to value the same things when it comes down to it.

Looking forward to getting to know you better when you pop up in my feed!

Hey, here I am again, popping up.

Thanks for replying. I’d love to see your many pics from your travels. Ooh! China and India too. I know it’s going to be fascinating. Virtual travel is fun!

One small thing, and I hope you don’t mind, I never sell myself short (well not anymore 😉) but I am prone to writing using the passive voice (upbringing) and so it may appear that way. But all the same thank you for your kind words.

It’s been a real adventure following @xcountytravelers and checking in on those they mention in their daily ‘Hey Have Ya Met’. It’s a lovely way to meet new steemians.

Connection is at the heart of my time here and I am very glad we are now connected.

Namaste x

I get it @juliamulcahy! I too sometimes communicate in an overly humble fashion (it's something I'm working on), but never from an internal sense of lacking. The reason I say I'm working on it is because I feel humility is a skill that is no longer valued much in our culture, and if we undersell ourselves, people will gladly buy at that undersold value. Does that make sense?

Are you into yoga?

Posted using Partiko Android

I have done yoga but my practice has lapsed recently x

Heard that! I've been an on again off again practitioner for the past fifteen years! And eight of the years I barely practiced at all I was living in a yoga ashram 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Now that’s an achievement 😂

Wow! How absolutely awesome of you both @xcountytravelers!

Thank you for your kind thoughts, and for writing about me!

I'm going to head over to the post just after leaving this reply! I suppose you can call us brave, but bravery isn't really necessary when one decides to follow the call of their heart. Fear simply melts away! When we decided to leave the "good Job" in Dallas for the better job in Cameroon we committed to following our hearts in this lifetime--in fact, the meaning of my handle (Abhaya) means "fearlessness" in Sanskrit. It's been the family motto since that day.

I'm still green here, and I got sucked up into up-voting a bit too much as Facebook had trained me well to just hit the like key on everything, so my voting power is basically worthless for now, but I will return the favor when I top back up in sixteen hours or so.

I really like the idea of putting together posts that feature other Steemians--I'm going to follow suit. If I can ever do anything to help you in the future, don't hesitate to ask me to buddy up!

Looking forward to blazing this path towards a much better web 3.0 with you!

We are so happy to help. I really felt everyone I knew needed to meet you. You are so positive and I appreciate your posts and honesty.

Are you on Discord? If so, look us up please. I would love to chat.
Ren

Welcome to Steem abhaya504! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Amazing history! Join to you ❤️

Thank you for stopping by and for the vote! Looking forward to seeing you pop up in my feed soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

I've not been to Africa but was in Vietnam for 5 years teaching English. I liked it. My brother was in like Kenya on a mission trip. I grew up in Oregon. I like your photos. Great family. Wishing you the best with projects.

I would absolutely love to visit Vietnam in the future, and if you're ever considering a trip to an African nation, I'd recommend looking into Senegal. It's a wonderful and interesting place to visit. Especially if you speak French.

Thanks also for your kind words. I'm still learning what people would like to see/read about here. It's very important to me that I bring value to the platform.

Posted using Partiko Android

Vietnamese love to eat French bread. Years ago, the French introduced things to Vietnam. I think some of the architecture may be French. I'm still learning about what people may like to see, too. Hard to say.

New Orleanians love the French bread too! It's what makes a poboy different from a sub/hogie!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great introduction!

Thanks! Means a great deal coming from you! Looking forward to learning more about how I can help add value to the community from you soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17