Loving nature, hiking, skiing, cycling, travelling and getting to know and understand different people and cultures

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi, I am Alenka from Slovenia and I got interested in steemit, because my son (@matijal), who is visiting his dad (@toddrjohnson) in the US, started posting and told me what a great platform steemit was. Now I can say that I agree with him.

I was born in Slovenia and am now again living here, but I spent more than 11 years in Germany, and almost 10 years in the US, where I got my PhD from Purdue University and where I did my residency in veterinary neurology/neurosurgery at Texas A&M University. Yes, Texas is also where I met my ex-husband and had my child. And so the circle closes with Matija visiting Texas on his own.

I love to be outdoors and am spending many week-ends and vacations hiking in the mountains of Slovenia's beautiful Triglav National Park with my family, including our dog(s). I enjoy skiing in winter and cycling in the summers, having gone on cycling trips with my family for more than 2 weeks in a stretch, the best one so far being from the Dolomites in Italy all to the coast of Croatia, a total of 825 km, with sights such as Lake Garda, Verona and Venice on our way. And I love to travel - last year we travelled 6 weeks in the US, starting in Boston and driving all the way to San Francisco and back and this year we will travel 1 month by car all the way to Norway's North Cape. Less than 3 weeks until then ... I will be writing regular blogs of this trip.

I am hoping to be able to share ideas with the steemit community and will be gladly answering questions about Slovenia, cycling trips, interesting cycling routes in Europe as well as mountain hikes, and travelling destinations.


Sort:  

Hello alenkal! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thank you very much for the useful info, including the link.

Welcome to Steem

Welcome to Steemit! There is a growing community of cyclists on here. I look forward to your cycling posts. Check out tags such as #cycling4steemit and #insaddle.

Thanks. Yes, we have done many cycling trips in Europe, unfortunately I did not know about Steemit at that time. I will be posting as soon as we do another one.

A warm welcome to you Alenka, with such a profile, you will add a lot of value to the network.

Thank you.

Welcome to steemit @alenkal if you have any questions, I am at your disposal, I am part of a school that teaches how to be successful in steemit.

STEEMSCHOOLS

We are here to help you grow, we have live classes every day by DISCORD,we have servers in several languages and countries.

Personally I recommend having all the servers added, since in each one they are contesting and you can promote your post

WE WIN TOGETHER

day 12.jpg

Thanks. I might ask you quite a few questions then.

Welcome to Steemit. I'm a bit surprised after reading your post that you are a PhD. I would think that you would be really busy and may not have the time to produce blog posts.

Best of luck here on the platform. There are a lot of sports enthusiasts including myself... (I was looking through the cycling tags)

Thank you. Yes, I am a Ph.D, but this only means that I enjoy analyzing and understanding things. Otherwise - life is pretty good here in Slovenia and even Ph.Ds get a lot of time off to see the world and do interesting things :-)
I enjoy to combine cycling with travel and so I cycled the Danube cycling route from Passau in Germany to Bratislava in the Slovak Republic, then another tour from Reschenpass in the Dolomites all to Poreč in Croatia and the third tour was along the Loire valley in France. Our plan for the summer of 2019 is to cycle the Slovene cycling route, totalling 1.800 km with daily ascends of up to 2.000 m. Until then I will need to train quite a bit :-)

Congratulations @alenkal! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to steemit @alenkal. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19