How Bitcoin changed my Life! My Introduceyourself Post.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys!

This is my very first real post on SteemIT, and I though I should introduce myself to the community, and explain how I got into Bitcoin (BTC) and cryptocurrencies in general.

I am historian by profession, and I have a PhD in Modern European History from the University of Southampton, UK. You might say, "how come a historian became interested in bitcoin?". True, one usually assume that cryptocurrencies are for cryptographers, IT guys, geeks, or computer engineers, or at least someone who is familiar with finances, banking and investment in general.

DSC_0282.JPG

I think this general assumption cannot be further from the truth. Let me explain!

I heard about bitcoin around 2013, when the price was around $60. This was the time when the media first picked up the topic. Then, deeply engaged in historical research, I failed to do adequate research about this new concept of money, and, fooled by the assumptions and accusations made against bitcoins by the mainstream media I said to myself:
"Ah, this is geek money, nerd money, gangster money. ... It cannot possibly work!"

But, knowing that our current form of politics and economy is far from being perfect, experiencing myself the difficulties of the job market after finishing my studies, witnessing the struggle of my peers, frustrated about the financial inequalities in society, and witnessing that the damned thing (Bitcoin) does not want to go away, I finally decided to look into the topic in much more detail this time.

This was sometime in early 2017. I have read the Bitcoin whitepaper (please download it yourself also!), I read some of the early papers written by Nick Szabo and others on e-gold and e-money, as well as listened to some of the quality content on social medias about the topic. That is when my perspective has changed! Now I know, learning from my own experience (and mistakes) that people who deny the financial and social brilliance (and opportunities) bitcoin has to offer do not know what they are talking about.

Once you understand the concept behind it, and the mechanism (no, you do not have to be a programmer to be able to do it!), you cannot possibly deny that it will (and has already) change the world for the better.

Here are a few points which really blew my mind when I first learn about bitcoin's mechanism:

1, With Bitcoin, I can predict with 100% certainty the number of bitcoins in circulation for example in any given year. - can you make such predictions with any government issued currency?

2, With Bitcoin, I know the exact mathematical and cryptographic algorithm behind its mechanism (it is open-source), which gives me peace of mind that the rules will not change. - can you make such predictions with the USD for example?

3, With Bitcoin, I do not have to trust that a company, whose share I am buying will tell the truth in their financial reports, all I have to do is to trust the laws of mathematics.

Bitcoin is not a company, it has no HQ, no CEO or any single person or group that controls it, no server, no official website, no custodian institution; what you own of it is truly yours.

For these reasons, bitcoin is the first opportunity in almost a 100 years, when you can truly own financial assets, and you do not have to trust a bank or government with it.

Why am I telling you all this?

First and foremost, Bitcoin is for everyone, and although it is not ready (yet) for mass-adoption due to the lack of user-friendly applications, if you use it, in the long run it will benefit your life, since it does not belong to any company, bank or government, which can change the rules over your head.

Second, I am glad that I have found SteemIT, where a like-minded community could be interested in my perspective. In my blog I post my take on the background of bitcoin news and current events, and in this process I will go beyond the standard presentation of news by digging deeper into the underlying background of current events.

Please follow me on this journey!

DSC_0941.jpg

Sort:  

Bitcoin also changed my life. Like yourself, I also put it off for awhile, but then went all in HODL mode. It's the perfect hedge against everything that we are all becoming.

Yes, thank you! I am actually really surprised that people keep panicking when the price drops for a week or two. I am aware there are still systematic risks, especially when we think about certain regulations, but looking at the price in the long term, 1-2-3 years ago, .... You know what I mean! :)

100%.

I have friends that will message me; "Hey Rob, are you OK? I saw Bitcoin crashed" (From $20,000 to $8,000, when I bought in sub $1,000) Haha! They don't know when I got in, so I just tell them I'm more than fine.

I am so happy that you are here, andras.becker! Wish you a very successful journey here in this fun-loving community :) Enjoy the friendship!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU


Welcome to Steemit @andras.becker!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome! So nice to have you with us. If you have any questions, just post them here and I will try to help out, if I can. Good luck!

Thank you for the warm welcome! It is great to have this opportunity to meet like-minded people! Best wishes.

Welcome to steemit @andras.becker. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome to Steem, @andras.becker!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2354 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Welcome to Steemit @andras.becker, I'm delighted to have you onboard. Wishing you the very best here.

@joshuaetim, thank you for the warm welcome! Hoping to find like-minded people here! See you there! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73