#Introduceyourself - Better Late Than Never

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Introduceyourself

Everybody knows that if you want to be someone one steemit you need to make an Introduce Yourself post, what gets hard is writing one about a community, but let's give it a crack anyway.

Note this is about three months late as we jumped straight in paying it forward A.S.A.P...

Who are the @asapers?

We are a relatively new manual curation account founded by @insideoutlet and @shai-hulud, focused on giving back to the steemit community A.S.A.P in case you don't know that acronym is "As Soon As Possible" get it lol @asapers.

As a small team and by a small team I mean @insideoutlet, we curate from our followers, we try an produce a "ReadMeAsap" as often as possible featuring three undervalued Steemians that produce quality work with 30% of the total SBD from the curation post-payout being distributed to the featured authors.

When asked in our discord channel not that long ago what @asapers was all about I responded something to the effect.

Our name carries the idea that we should be trying to give back as soon as possible, and that one does not need to be a whale or a dolphin in order to do so.

That sometimes giving back can be a simple as giving a properly engaged comment, giving an upvote no matter how small its value, or even just pointing new users in the right direction, or giving advice if you have the answers.

The truth is that you can give back much sooner than you think, @insideoutlet and I are just tiny plankton and this community is our attempt to give back.

I wrote that when our little Discord community had maybe 60 members, since that time we have been joined by many new @asapers and enjoyed the invaluable support and encouragement of many others.

Where did we come from.

I don't know if you have been paying attention but Steemit actually has a strong "Pay It Forward" vibe and while it has been disbanded for a while now I think if your reading this should know about #Stewardsofgondor this group of people represented @fulltimegeek's massive investment in the steemit community when he delegated vast amounts of his Steem power throughout the Steemit platform to encourage community-mindedness and the production of quality posts.

Enter our Benefactor.

I had engaged with a fair few of the #stewardsofgondor after all they so often produce interesting and quality posts so when @hitmeasap one of the stewards himself made a post requesting feedback about how and to who he might delegate naturally I gave my two cents and of course suggested that my wife and I might be good candidates, after all everyone could do with a little more steempower.

Not long after @hitmeasap selected his small group (six of us) to delegate 100SP too. What was extra awesome was the lack of pressure, that so often Hitme would reiterate that these delegations came with no strings that what he wanted from us was to keep doing what we were already doing, posting, commenting, engaging, etc.

Since that delegation @hitmeasap has never stopped championing the @asapers team, in fact apart from carrying the message of giving back asap the observant individual might notice the connection of our name to his.

So there we where 6 strangers, well apart from my wife and I, we had @braxton101, @yogajill, @wdougwatson, @frankabelle.

We needed a place to connect so I made a first bunky attempt at a Discord server, shortly after we registered the @asapers account, and rebuilt the discord channel in order to open it up to the public and @insideoutlet published the first Read me ASAP.

Since then.

We have grown as a discord community, grown our followers, produced 65 Read me ASAP's, and shared the rewards with over 170 authors.

Not everyone selected by @hitmeasap has been able to be an remain active in our community some had a different path, some had newborns, yet some of us remained, life happens.

We have been amazingly lucky and gained some amazing new members, and expand our core team with support from delegations from @hitmeasap going out to the ever amazing @lynncoyle1 who is largely considered one of Steemits best greeters and the magnificent @mirrors who so often shows people the way to our community and has created a curation post of her own sharing quality posts of undervalued Steemian's called Xposed.

Our Supporters.

Due to the nature of the project and profit sharing of the curation posts, the @asapers SP is slow growing and as such we could not do what we do without our amazing delegators.

When reading about these people I want you to remember that free delegating means giving up SP you could use to upvote our own work, build your own following, or even lease for profit and while you delegate for free it comes at a cost to the delegator. Delegating is no small thing and should be respected.

@hitmeasap, thank you without your support I can't honestly say that @insideoutlet and I would have put in the work to make the community we have at least not as early as we did.

@wdougwatson, an original @asapers this man is busy with life right now but has continued to support us from the beginning and still delegates now.

@simplymike, everyone should know this lovely lady, an @asapers and if you know @newbiegames then you should know @simplymike.

@erodedthoughts, this bloke is just fun, go read his stuff and provides us an indirect delegation through @Insideoutlet.

Enter the Calvary.

Like I said life happens, even to delegators, recently @hitmeasap had to put his delegations to the @asaspers on hold, Hitme is currently working on paying for his education and using Steem to do so, How cool is that! so sometimes trying to delegate that much personal SP 100% and pay for education with Steem become mutually exclusive.

As I said we can't do what we do without our delegators, these following people came to our support during this time. I can't say if these are ongoing delegations but I can say they are truly appreciated by the @asapers community.

@preparedwombat, this bloke was quick to get onto helping us and Hitme so thank you very much.

@danielsaori, this Dustsweeper is a good witness, worth a vote wouldn't you say?

@meno, it's no surprise that Mr @helpie himself was ready to lend a hand his project does great things for the community.

@tarazkp, "Aussie Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi" that's right a fellow #teamaustralia member and philosopher was there to lend a bob or two when it was needed.

@tcpolymath, would it surprise you to know that a bloke with maths in his name can crunch the numbers around his votes and delegations, this is a bloke is a regular supporter of openmic and on top of that actually made me think about Rosanne.

So you want to be an @asaper

If you want to join us please feel free, come and say g'day in our Discord channel, don't forget that we curate from our followers.

So you want to support the @asapers

We adore real comments on the posts of the curated authors, would love an upvote on our Read Me Asap, and truly appreciate being added to your Steemauto fanbase.

However if you feel like you want to go above and beyond you can delegate to us through these convenient Steemconnect links.


10sp 25sp 50sp 100sp 200sp 500sp

Written by @shai-hulud

Read me ASAP Issues

Issue 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65

Shai & I.jpg

Giving back A.S.A.P!!!


Asapers.gif

The STEEM Engine
Upvote follow resteem.png

Sort:  

It's about time! I've been making up a intro story for you guys for months now haha

Thank you so much for the kind words about me; I'm honored to be a part of this awesome team :)

And now that you have this awesome post out, you two can focus on the best thing that has ever happened to you both! I'm sending all kinds of love and positive vibes that the trip and your real live introduce yourself to the new love of your life goes well!! <3

Cheers :)

Haha, sorry about that lol... it was more important to pay it forward ASAP. I think if it wasn't for the baby to come it would have never got done. Its amazing how those dealines make you tidy up all the outstanding to do items. Lol. Thanks for making us awesome even without this info lol.

Thank you for the great work that you have been doing. I found you through the Pay it Forward Contest hosted by @thedarkhorse. Keep up the good work. With support like this, we can help to make the steemit experience great for everyone.

Thank you @honeysim, I love @thedarkhorse's #payitforward contest. Its everything the @asapers is about.

Love that film, Pay It Forwards, and the concept of doing that, of investing in the future, truly is fundamental. I am Joey or Oatmeal.

Hey Joey/Oatmeal, why oatmeal as a side note?

I love that film too, its a beautiful film woth brilliant ideas. I payitforward here and in real life. I figure what comes around goes around. Thanks for stopping by.

Awesome. I love to eat Oatmeal. You are what you eat.

hahaha, that is true but I am sure you eat more than oatmeal lol... I ate it quite a lot of oatmeal in the US but not so much when I am home in OZ.

Haha yeah, I love to eat oatmeal and strawberries. You can call me Star Berry, haha. What is OZ? The Wizard of OZ?

haha no OZ as in Australia lol... Star berry it is! lol!

Yay and hurray for the ASAPers. Resteemed! :)

Thank you much appreciated.

Yay! A history :) I am very happy that I followed the path before me that led me to this group. I know I am still very new to it, but I know several people that are involved with @asapers so this path was pretty easy to see. I am glad that I decided to become a part of the group.

We are very happy to have you too @tryskele. :)

This team is a wonderful team. And thanks to @hitmeasap for delegating his SP to this project amidst his educational needs. Thanks to team #asapers you make a cool team.

Thanks @elmac, we appreciate your support, @hitmasap is a living legend for sure without his delegations the @asapers would never have been born.

Hi, I'm @edosweet. I stopped by to give you a warm welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us.

Thanks, we have been around for a few months if you read the above only just getting to this place. Lol.

Welcome to Steemit. wish you good luck

Thanks, been around for a while, just never got around to introducing ourself. Thanks for the welcome 😁

Hi! I am your greeting bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Thanks we have been around for a while now. Only just got to this now.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87