I Came for the Decentralization but Stayed for the Education

This is the first step of what will hopefully be a long and happy journey into the world of Steemit. It marks my official commitment to creating regular content here without exactly knowing how it all works. I'll be learning as I go.

I'll keep it short for this first post.

I love to read, to think and to write. Reading has been a lifelong passion. Thinking and writing have been acquired tastes.

Sitting behind a radio microphone for the past 34 years has helped me to find my voice. During that time I've also been a public speaker, writer and mentor. I constantly challenge my listeners and readers to step outside of the boundaries of conventional wisdom and to take ownership of their opinions.

Now, I love to help others find their voices and to share ideas that liberate the captive. If there's a discussion worth having, I do my best to help elevate it beyond shouted bumper sticker slogans and to focus instead on the underlying principles at stake. I'm willing to accept truth from any source.

In this blog, I'll be writing about current events as viewed through the prism of common sense.

I don't have all the answers but I'm not afraid to ask the kinds of questions that help provide needed perspective. I strive to make my commitment to truth stronger than my attachment to my own beliefs. It's my goal for my readers to be more certain about what I stand for than simply who or what I'm against. Because of this, I have little use for labels.

I'd rather that my readers come away from what they've read with a broader understanding than they had before, whether they agree with it or not.

I'm less concerned about changing minds and more concerned with softening hearts.

If you don't mind the occasional challenge to conventional wisdom, please follow my blog and dialogue with me. Ideally, we'll both be richer for engaging.

Bryan HydeThe Loving Liberty Booth at FEECon 2018.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome Bryan ;)
There are also things like @dlive here on the blockchain that might be even greater for you than writing - just assuming since you seem to be talking at your job as well!

Greets, @theaustrianguy

Hello bryanhyde! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

@bryanhyde, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to steem

Welcome to Steemit, bryanhyde! Wish you the best journey here in this very cool community with many nice people :) All the best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you for the connections.

You are welcome enjoy your self here..


Welcome to Steem @bryanhyde.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @bryanhyde!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2923 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemSincerity on Busy and a few bug fixes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87