O the Irony

20180509_175539.jpg

Good day Steem friends,

The irony I noticed from my #introduceyourself post yesterday: the title was Awakening with a picture of a sunset. So today's pic is of a sunrise, coming home from work for me but when most local people are waking up.

I've always been fascinated with clouds and stars and have tried to keep pictures of some truly breathtaking scapes but, as many of you know, the pictures never can do justice to the feeling of the air blowing past and an awe-inspiring formation in the sky before you. I'll be sharing some of those better ones in the future. Feel free to share any of them accompanied with my brand. #sambrand

Investitures

Today marks an historic day. Bought my first coins. Traded them for Steem, which I then powered up. I would like my vote to benefit others, to encourage the better content. I will continue to invest as I am able in both good posts and crypto in general.

Further,

I spent some time developing my secondary language (Spanish) by using my commute time to and from work to practice with audio files. I have had the opportunity to progress on a fairly consistent basis over the years by working with coworkers of different national backgrounds. Some from El Salvador, a few Brazilians with that funky Portuguese dialect, and plenty of Mexicans.

The beauty being that it's all very similar, derived from the same source, making it easy to distinguish and learn from them all.

Lastly..

I'd like to end with a thank you to all who reached out to me on my first post with words of encouragement and offers to help as we progress together. I'm excited to see where this takes us, late as I am to the game. Feel free to ask questions, I'll be adding some more info to my profile and bio shortly. Stay tuned and #carryon

@originalworks #sambrand

Sort:  

Look forward to reading more of your posts good sir.

Thank you. Aside from the obvious gardening, did you see any of my other interests from my first post that we have in common?

From this post: my wife knows just a small bit of Spanish, and my sister speaks it fluently. You're from my favorite place in north america: Texas.
I too enjoy firearms, but I don't do dying or reloading - just unloading ;)
Of course like you said, permaculture, gardening and health are right up there for me.
Nature/farming/homeschooling/philosophy/survivalism and sustainability are all hot topics for me.

I am interested to know where your Faith resides, as for some reason I am inclined to think that we have something in common in that department also?

Haha sounds like a lot to me. A pleasure to have made your acquaintance! @nateonsteemit good find bud.

As far as reloading goes, if you unload, if you have the money to start, the ability to learn, and the patience to grind through the learning curve, it's a skill (that I don't own too much of lol) that is well worth its salt.

As far as my faith, I am an open follower of Christ's teachings with no particular denomination. I didn't make that or my (a)political positions known initially because momma always said not to discuss those on at the dinner table! How about yourself?

Likewise!
I've always been ultra intimidated by loading my own rounds! I know that my mother and father in law both do. It totally makes sense long run money, skill, and supply wise. I too am lacking in the patience to grind curve! haha

I too don't make habit to bring these things up, unless someone starts talking about it with me. Somehow I figured our thoughts were at least somewhat aligned. I too am not affiliated with a denomination but believe in the word of God.

I was more than intimidated the first time I shot my first handloaded rounds. It would probably have been pretty funny to watch but it gets steadily easier as you learn and practice. The fear was extra warranted by the fact that I only used books and online resources. No mentor. I highly recommend finding someone willing to teach you and soak it up.

I'll be sure to share some of my experiences regarding handloading in the future. Maybe some video of @nateonsteemit and I shooting them. He's a self made student as well. Be warned: it's tedious and some parts are mundane but don't neglect your focus and by the time you start shooting your own creations, the thrill and pride of success will more than make up for your troubles. Be patient, methodical, and focused and you'll do fine! Worth looking into at least.

I have several that would show me the ropes here as well. I sure appreciate the offer. I know it's not common to have basements in TX, but most homes here in Alberta have them.. Ours is unfinished and so I need to develop plans for how to develop it. I basically figure i need it in four parts in addition to the plumbing being done.
A room for potatoes and the like
A spare bedroom
The gym room
and the hunting room. <- that would have to be where I'd do any dying. I'm not certain, but quite sure that you need to store it all under lock and key in Canada.
I haven't looked on Steemit yet, has anyone posted this type of info yet? Could be valuable information!

Yea basements are rare. Only common more north and east where they get the bulk of the tornadoes.
Didn't know you were in Canada. That's awesome. And it's a good idea to keep primers and powders separate and under lock/key even without mandate! Especially if you have little ones around.

I'm not aware of any other loaders yet but I'll be looking and keep you posted as well. And like I said, I'll be making some posts of my own going forward. You should lead the charge for other Canadians!

Welcome to Steemit! Nice to meet you, @burntoblog

Thanks, nice to meet you too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10