#introduceyourself Hiya/Hola Steemit! @thomasjmitchell introduced me

#introduceyourself Hiya/Hola Steemit! @thomasjmitchell introduced me

Hi everyone! I’m Clay Nikifork - I’m a writer, performer, and multi-passioned-mega-nerd. I was drinking coffee in the terrace of a Medellin gallery when the brilliant photographer @thomasjmitchell told me about Steemit. It sounded too cool to be real. I'm so glad to be here!

I’m 29 years old, west coast Canadian / who lives in London, UK / current traveler in Colombia / a move to Madrid impending. I’m learning Spanish. Slowly.

I do standup comedy and storytelling and have two shows coming up, one in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and the other in Vancouver Fringe. I just did an intensely-vulnerable-but-hopefully-beneficial TEDx talk on mental illness stigma. (Do check it out, and share it if you believe it can make an impact in your circles.) I'll be posting about my writing and public speaking experience with TEDx soon!

41764501591_45992d1557_o.jpg

I’ve been very fortunate to travel the world in some incredibly interesting times, and everywhere I go I’m taking notes and photos. I'm always asking questions, seeing humour in the chaos, and writing it all down.

IMG_6205.JPG
Hola from Medellin.

I have a BFA in writing, another degree in social justice, and a master’s in postcolonial culture and global policy. That last one succeeds in killing conversation at 95% of all dinner parties. But in future posts I want to break down some postcolonial theory as it applies to global events and trends. I’m looking for PhD programs more or less as we speak, because mega-nerdery knows no limits and who really wants to be debt-free.

I also happen to be a lesbian and nonbinary, vegan, and an avid meditator and runner. And I effing love to dance.

I’m a burgeoning doula (I help families with the pregnancy and birth process) and used to be a childcare support worker. It probably makes sense that I'm also a huge time management geek and will be writing about that.

I’m ridiculously excited to read and engage with the content and content creators here, and I'm looking forward to contributing!

And here’s me.

steem1.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome Clay :)
You definitely have found a great place here, cheers to @thomasjmitchell for showing you this place.
Let me help you out with a upvote + resteem as a starting bonus!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you, so appreciated :) Excited to get started. Haven't felt this motivated to write and post in a long while.

Welcome to Steem Community @claynikiforuk! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello Clay!! Glad to have you a part of the steemit community!!!

Welcome to Steemit @claynikiforuk!
I know when I first heard of the platform I couldn't believe it either! I have been here for 3 weeks and I must say I am blown away at how awesome the community is.

My top tip is to engage with the community through commenting on all posts you read. Even if you dont upvote the post. Also dont let your vote power drop below 80%

It takes about 24 hours to regain 20%. So basically each vote takes 2% if your giving a 100% vote. Yeah there are lots of little things to learn. Im thinking I should do a post on this. I keep having to retype the same thing over and over.

Anyway welcome to Steemit! Enjoy and I look forward to seeing your content.

Thanks very much for the tips! I'm definitely enjoying the learning curve that is coming with this community and that post idea sounds great, especially if you've been here for three weeks - you know what the start-up experience is like! All best and looking forward to your content too :)

Bienvenido a esta excelente plataforma de negocio. Estás cordialmente invitado a formar parte de nuestra escuela de preparación de steemit. . Puedes entrar aquí: https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Welcome to this excellent business platform. You are cordially invited to be part of our steemit preparation school. . You can enter here: https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
https://steemit.com/dobartim/@nellita66/steem-schools-steem-schools-ultimate-challenge-special-invitation
https://steemit.com/dobartim/@nellita66/steem-schools-ultimate-challenge-invitacion-especial

Hello! I'm glad to see that such talented and motivated people like you come to us. I'm sure that your blog will be very popular. I like what you're doing :)

Hiya! Thanks very much, I'm looking forward to trying this out as a platform, and so motivating on the writing front!

@claynikiforuk, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Glad to see you on Steemit! Best of luck on a successful run.

Welcome @claynikiforuk

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82