Introduce Yourself: Welcome to the Comics Corner!

Who am I?
I’m Batman. No, seriously. I’m Batman, and you’re Batman. We’re Spider-Man, Wonder Woman, Superman, and Black Panther. Comic book characters are there to represent the best, and worst that humanity has to offer, through fantastical journeys and feats of heroism...and villainy.

Hello, I’m Chris and welcome to Chris’s Comics Corner.

See what I did there? Alliteration! A mainstay of comics from the classic Lois Lane to Peter Parker to the dear, sweet meme generating newspaper owner, J. Jonah Jameson.

So, apparently according to my future husband, @VaughnDemont, who dragged me kicking and screaming onto this site, one must start their first post with an introduction of themselves, their credentials, and what you’ll be seeing in their future articles. Plus a picture of themselves for some reason.

32857210_10101946025391595_5534765908716683264_n.jpg

Yes...yes that's me. And yes that’s a Rocket Raccoon shirt. Yes, I liked him before he got cool, don’t judge. I hate photographs of myself. I look horrible!

Backstory

But getting back to the point, I don’t like talking much about myself but I’ll give you a little overview. I’m a 32 year old telecommunications major, I am going back to college, living in New York. State, not city, because people are apparently very finicky about that around here. I’ve been here for about 5 years after moving here from Ohio to be with my fiance.

Let’s put this out here right away: I have an almost encyclopedic knowledge of comic characters and stories in my head. While Marvel has always been a bit higher in my opinion, DC has had many great storylines especially in recent years...after the New 52. “Shivers”

Let me put it this way. My bedtime stories included my dad reading to us from Chris Claremont and John Byrne’s Dark Phoenix Saga. Every Wednesday dad would bring home new comics, that he told my mother were gifted to him by a “friend”, and we’d pour over them. At the time I had very few friends and thanks to social anxieties,, I was expected to always be working on school work, or reading.

And it just wasn’t comics either. I was reading novels by the time i was in fifth grade, usually some of the old comic book ones. But I was also a voracious consumer of anything fantasy.

Let’s go through some questions that comic fans ask. Favorite Series? Difficult, but I loved Sandman, a few Wonder Woman storylines, and She-Hulk. Favorite Hero/Heroine? Hard one again but it’s either Spidey or Wondy. Fav writers? Big fan of Perez, Gaiman, Morrison, Simone, and Rucka.

Getting Down To Business

Now onto the stuff you guys want to know. What is, and what will be Comic Corner. It’s about me getting money. Insert J.J.J. laughing meme now.

There we go.

Comics Corner will be two to three times a week, depending upon how busy I am, with articles dealing with comics in some way, shape or form. It might be a classic comic that’s been overlooked, or it might be a favorite storyline of mine. I might decide to do a comparison between movie and comic version of some characters. I honestly do have a lot of topics I wish to cover and there’s no better time to get into comics then now.

Why’s that? Other than the renaissance that’s happening with not only movies and TV, but some of the best...and worst storylines have come out in recent years, Not only that, but comics are being written by some big name authors these days including Ta-Nehisi Coates’s run on Black Panther and his moving into Captain America. That’s not even mentioning the scarcity of classic issues that are now readily available on sites such as Comixology, so even if you don’t have a comic shop close to you, you can read up on backstory.

So that’s the who, and the what… now the why. I love comics. I love superheroes. As I began this article, superheroes are a mirror onto society. They are the modern day equivalent to the classic Greek heroes of yore. Both are known not only for their acts of valor, but also for their weaknesses. This is a place where I can share my love of this modern day mythology with others.

But stay tuned for the first exciting issue, yes, I’m going to refer to articles as issues, of Comic’s Corner coming soon.

Excelsior! (Yes, for you youngsters I am Stealing Stan Lee’s Motto. Yes, I remember seeing this in comics when I was younger and he was still editing them. And yes, he still add this to his works.)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Thanks for the comment and the encouragement!

Welcome! Great with one more comic aficionado! I am a European so the comic I make is a bit less super, but I like all of it Manga, Superhero And Tintin. Hope you will have a good time here.

Thank ya so much! Hope you find a few of my future articles...or issues entertaining!

@comicscorner Hey Chris! Nice to have ya on Steemit! My name is Chris as well and I am in the comics community here as well! I actually own a shop in NJ so we aren't that far. The folks in this particular "genre" are super welcoming and helpful so be sure to pop your head in. Folks like @cryplectibles @bryan-imhoff @modernzorker @steven.nam @saywha are all super awesome and pop up great content in our community so give em a check out. There are others I am forgetting off the top of me head so sorry to those I didn't pop up...long day. Regardless I look forward to checking out your stuff man!!! LMK if ya have any questions!!!

Thanks so much! I really appreciate the support and some options on people to look at while I'm on here! I always wanted to own my own comic shop. Hopefully I can contribute some good articles!

Absolutely man! We need new passionate folks here!!! Your post is very detailed and screamed that you are forreal! Looking forward to your stuff brother!!

Welcome aboard Chris! I wish you much luck on your Steem journey!

I featured this post in this week's #ians post (Introduce a New Steemain). Upon payout, I will forward the SBD earned from it.

https://steemit.com/ians/@gmuxx/introduce-a-new-steemian-comicscorner

Thank you so much! I really do appreciate it!

My pleasure.

Welcome to steemit @comicscorner. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

welcome batman,,,welcome to steemit, get every vote back,, i am following you please visit my blog @yousafharoonkhan

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!

welcome to steemit, hope you can give information and good work and steemit users to support all activities in this steemit.
you can also visit my account, to know me and become a good friend

Thank ya kindly!

Welcome to Steem!@ Express yourself, thats what its about, have fun doing so and who knows, might make a buck or two!@

Can't focus on the money on this! More focusing on writing good articles.

Right on, keep having fun!@

You're such a goof. Glad to see @vaughndemont finally dragged your ass here, buddy!

I just wanted a nice summer vacation but noooooooooooo, I've got to read and write about comics!

Oh yeah, like that's gonna be so much work for you.

Hey, how many hundreds of comics have you read and tried to keep all the facts straight hmmm!

I have to be honest with you -- I stopped collecting like 15 years ago. I couldn't keep up! Now I just read industry news articles and such to get the quick and dirty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71