Babylon One on Steemit

I've always been interested in space. I love science and I'm a sci-fi fan. Having studied physics at the university and worked as a software developer, I thought I could put my skills to work to foster space exploration and colonisation, and so the Babylon One blog began. The name is a reference to the sci-fi TV series Babylon 5, which focused on a space station that was meant to keep the peace in a Universe shared by rivalling alien and human factions.

babylon5.jpg

Babylon One was the place to preserve my thoughts and share them with the world, and hopefully to start a conversation with like-minded people. Recently my blog was taken down due to an interruption of the hosting service, and this was not the first time my blogs have faced a black-out.

I'm not paid for blogging, is something I do in my free time, so I was not willing to invest money in a private hosting service, but also I didn't want to publish my blog with one of the blogging platforms that are offered as a free service, because I was afraid to give up my content to capricious terms of use that change all the time.

In the meantime, I learned about the blockchain technology and thought that it had the potential to solve many of the current problems we have with the internet and with the big corporations that have taken over social media. I saw the potential of blockchain technology to become the next generation of digital communication, and was already experimenting with some of its implementations when I learned about Steemit. I followed the project for some time, but finally, after my blog was taken down, I decided to move it to this platform. I have found support in the words of Simon Oxenham (@simoxenham) in his post I Have a Dream for Science to go ahead with Steemit.

So I'm optimistic about the future of blockchain and the opportunity that Steemit is providing. So if you're a space fan, go ahead and introduce yourself in the comments. Tell us which is your favorite sci-fi movie or tv show, and your favorite space project.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @cybersettler! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello cybersettler! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome onboard @cybersettler!!! :) I am very happy to hear what you love writing about because I love to read about these, though I am not good at writing about them!! My favourite sci-fi has got to be Star Wars and Star Trek.

Looking forward to your posts and feel free to tag #greetersguild in your posts to gain visibility from us or follow @greetersguild for further interactions as we are a community who wants to help and guide newcomers, so they can choose to stay and not get overwhelmed by discovering this whole new platform by yourselves. It is just a little support we want to do, as most of us have been helped too when we first came on. Do check us out, if you are keen!

Hereby wishing you all the best on Steemit and have a blast.

welcome4.png

Welcome to Steemit, cybersettler! I wish you a very wonderful journey here on Steemit! All the best!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steemit cybersettler
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. I also follow Simon he intriges me aswell with his science blogs.
Blogging thats what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Welcome to steemit @cybersettler. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.


Welcome to Steemit @cybersettler!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi @cybersettler! I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!

Welcome to Steemit! Thats one of the many great things about Steemit, the fact that you can get paid for something you did for free before! ;) Wishing you well on your journey!

I am happy to find a blog dedicated to promoting space exploration and colonisation, an opportunity to exchange ideas that, according to the title of your post, I deduce that begins by imagining what a space station should be like to help us humans expand through space.

I find that the ideas that are exposed in the genre of science fiction are an extraordinary mental exercise of Humanity. It is a genre that has two legs, one that swings in the imagination: dreams, visions, ideas, predictions. The other is anchored in reality: in data, science and technology. A mixture that is sometimes very fanciful and other times poses real hypotheses.

It is fascinating to see how many ideas of science fiction have become reality right in front of our eyes, like the trip to the Moon of Verne or the videoconferences of The Jetsons. I do not know if sometimes the dreams expressed by these writers have shaped the course of history by having found executors for those ideas, or if they have simply been predictions, glimpses of the future. Maybe it has been a bit of both.

I have liked many works of science fiction: "Contact", "Odyssey 2001", "Deep Impact", "Gattaca", "I, Robot" (Asimov's novel, not the bad movie of Will Smith), Robotech .. .
But without a doubt, my favorite so far is the Mars Trilogy by Kim Stanley Robinson.
A very extensive work for which I have a deep admiration due to the ability of the author to create such a credible world, from its deep and diverse characters, through the interactions between them to the new world they discover and transform. On the one hand, the work is full of authentic descriptions of the Planet Mars (I read it often consulting Google Mars), evaluating it in the light of our Earth to determine what it needs to turn it into a home; and on the other, with a multitude of proposals, with their advantages and disadvantages for terraforming it. It is a work that left me convinced that the colonisation of other celestial bodies is possible and a necessity.

Let's create a new space station!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77